Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

The Others» Forums » Rules

Subject: Sin Avatars and Controllers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sebastian Pacześ
Poland
Puszczykowo
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Are they normal monsters / meaning Sin player can spawn them every round?

We played the second red scenario (about fire) and last goal of this scenario was to kill avatar and controller.

If we kill avatar only and round ends - what happens next?

Can sin player simply resummon dead avatar on any free nest?
- and if answer is "Yes" - does it cancel our effort to kill it (which we did previous round so we only woould need to kill of controller)?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott LeBlanc
United States
Lyman
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Usually if your mission is to kill a certain creature it tells you to remove them permenant or if it can respawn it counts.towards killing it. I do t have the game in front of me but check the text again.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Peacock
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
The Avatar and controller can be re spawned like any other monster (not Hell Club). If the sin player chose not to summon the Avatar and then the heroes get to a mission to kill the Avatar, then the heroes win. Sin Player should have brought him back.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Elliker
Switzerland
flag msg tools
Firstly, as stated in the rulebook all monsters, once they are dead, may be resummoned UNLESS specific rules state otherwise. As far as I know only the apocalypse cards as well as certain missions state that certain monsters may not be resummoned. The most common example, as mentioned above, are the members of the Hell Club. Thus, as the avatar is a monster and the mission does not state that the Sins player may not resummon it, the Sins player may resummon it.

Secondly, the final mission of 'Haven in Flames' does not state that the heroes must destroy the avatar and the controller in the same round. Thus, destroying one in one round and the other in the next seems totally fine.

Thirdly, the end of the round summoning is not voluntary as the Sins player must summon [#] monsters. This leads to a tactic that the heroes might want to employ if the monsters necessary to kill for a certain mission are not resummoned by the Sins players. Namely, the heroes should simply avoid killing as many or more monsters as there are heroes to force him to summon monsters that where not killed in this round.

Fourthly, most missions actually force the Sins player (or the heroes players) to summon any monster required to win a certain mission at the start of said mission. There are three stories where this is not the case:

The End Times:
'1B. Stop The Cultists: Destroy [#] Acolytes in the same round.' As the mission does not state that the heroes complete the mission if there are no Acolytes on the board (or that dead Acolytes must be respawned at the end of the round), the Sins players may simply refrain from resummoning dead acolytes to get to a situation where there are not [#] acolytes on the board.

Haven in Flames:
'1. Monstrous Threat: Destroy [#] of any type of monsters in the same round.' This might have the same problem as '1B' above, but I have not done the maths if it is actually possible. Probably not.

The Beast We Become:
'2B. Banish the Puppeteer: Destroy the controlle twice. Then it may never be resummoned. (When destroyed, Controller is immediately resummoned until mission is complete).' If the controller is already dead at the start of the mission and the Sins player refrains from resummoning it at the end of the round, the heroes have to use the tactic mentioned above.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dilkROM
Germany
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmb
Apologies to hijack the thread, but we're playing having a mildly heated discussion over the meaning of this mission:

Haven in Flames:
'1. Monstrous Threat: Destroy [#] of any type of monsters in the same round.'

Does this mean the FAITH players must destroy 3 abominations or 3 acolytes or 3 etc, or are they intended to kill just 3 monsters (type irrelevant, don't need to match)? And if the former, when must they "state" the type they are intending to kill? Or do they never need to state it? And further, if not, I suppose the amount is just tracked manually (since the board only allows to track a single number not per type)

Thanks for any insight here... for me the wording is clear but I'm the Sin.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Flavio Santos
Brazil
Brasilia
Distrito Federal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
dilkROM wrote:
Apologies to hijack the thread, but we're playing having a mildly heated discussion over the meaning of this mission:

Haven in Flames:
'1. Monstrous Threat: Destroy [#] of any type of monsters in the same round.'

Does this mean the FAITH players must destroy 3 abominations or 3 acolytes or 3 etc, or are they intended to kill just 3 monsters (type irrelevant, don't need to match)? And if the former, when must they "state" the type they are intending to kill? Or do they never need to state it? And further, if not, I suppose the amount is just tracked manually (since the board only allows to track a single number not per type)

Thanks for any insight here... for me the wording is clear but I'm the Sin.


Any 3 monsters. Any combination. Type is irrelevant.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Schmidt
United States
Woodbridge
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmb
Skywarden wrote:
Are they normal monsters / meaning Sin player can spawn them every round?

We played the second red scenario (about fire) and last goal of this scenario was to kill avatar and controller.

If we kill avatar only and round ends - what happens next?

Can sin player simply resummon dead avatar on any free nest?
- and if answer is "Yes" - does it cancel our effort to kill it (which we did previous round so we only woould need to kill of controller)?



Unless there is a limit to killing things in the same round, once you kill something it counts as having been killed for the mission objective.


Yes, the Sin can simply resummon a dead avatar, but it does not cancel you having already killed it. You would only need to kill the controller. If you needed to kill both in the same round, then of course it would be a new round, so you would have to kill both now.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.