Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Labyrinth: The Awakening, 2010 – ?» Forums » Rules

Subject: Deploying out of Regime Change with Militia rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christian van Someren
Netherlands
Groningen
Groningen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Say I have 5 Militia and 5 Troops (and 0 Cells) in a Regime Change country. Am I alloyed to Deploy my Troops out of this country, leaving the Militia behind? Or am I still required to keep at least 5 Troops (not Militia) in a Regime Change country?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Bender
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmb
Good question!

Militia cannot "cover" for US Troops in a Regime Change situation. Since Militia mostly represent irregular forces, the US Player must first resolve the Regime Change requirements in some fashion before the Troops could freely Deploy (7.3.1) out of the country. The Regime Change could be resolved by achieving Good Governance, or by event play that ends the Regime Change condition in some way, including the start of a Civil War (11.2.2 6th bullet).

The US Player could perform a Withdraw Operation in the Regime Change situation described above, but must first be Soft and there are other ramifications (see 7.3.5).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian van Someren
Netherlands
Groningen
Groningen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, thanks for the clarification.

And for the great expansion!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Capi Etheriel
Brazil
flag msg tools
But if the US has enough militia (5 more than cells), can the US player perform a WOI *after* the troops withdraw?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P. Fowler
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
We provide...
badge
The rich and powerful take what they want. We steal it back for you.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
barraponto wrote:
But if the US has enough militia (5 more than cells), can the US player perform a WOI *after* the troops withdraw?

Yes. Militia count in that check for WOI, so if you can find a way to place them in a RC country, then they can be used even after Withdraw (because the Withdraw does not actually end the RC.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Bender
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmb
Correct...and a very unique situation too!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.