Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

The Spoils» Forums » Rules

Subject: Basic Rules Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lester Dizon
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Do responses resolve in a stack in a last-in/first-out order? Or do they resolve as played before the next response is made?

2) Do the effects of multiple copies of a card like Tax Attorney (If your faction loses any amount of influence, reduce the amount by 1.) in play stack? For instance, two Tax Attorneys lower damage by a total of -2?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ramon Garcia
Philippines
Pasig
Metro Manila
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) It depends on when an effect is played. Cards that are played "in response to" something stack in that way (LIFO). However, you can also respond to a single effect with multiple cards/abilities. In the second case, the first played will resolve first:

Player1 plays A
Player2 responds with B
Player1 responds with C
Player2 does not respond to C
Player2 responds to A with D

In this case, the effects will resolve in this order: C, B, D, A

2) Yes, they stack, each card's trigger is handled independently.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lester Dizon
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks LK
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ramon Garcia
Philippines
Pasig
Metro Manila
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hmmm, that's strange... you call me LK... now, most people on BGG would rip my real name off my profile and call me Ramon... Everywhere else, they call me LK...

So... what other forum/chatroom/game do I know you from?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Artur Baginski
Germany
49074 Osnabrück
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, I got nothing better to do, thus I'm posting a very detailed example:

Player1 plays A
Player2 responds to A with B
Player1 responds to B with C
Player2 does not respond to C
Card C is resolving.
Now Player 1 gets the chance to respond to B again.
Player 1 responds to B with D.
Player 2 can respond to D now, but he refuses.
Card D is resolving.
Now Player 1 gets the chance to respond to B again, but refuses.
Card B is resolving.
Now Player 2 gets the chance to respond to A again, but refuses.
Card A is resolving.



@lordkuato
I miss your litte "lord kuato does..." sentences


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Big Worm
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Johnny_Bravo wrote:
Well, I got nothing better to do, thus I'm posting a very detailed example:

Player1 plays A
Player2 responds to A with B
Player1 responds to B with C
Player2 does not respond to C
Card C is resolving.
Now Player 1 gets the chance to respond to B again.
Player 1 responds to B with D.
Player 2 can respond to D now, but he refuses.
Card D is resolving.
Now Player 1 gets the chance to respond to B again, but refuses.
Card B is resolving.
Now Player 2 gets the chance to respond to A again, but refuses.
Card A is resolving.


Player1 plays A -nothing wrong with that
Player2 responds to A with B -nothing wrong either
Player1 responds to B with C -nothing wrong here
Player2 does not respond to C

Card C is resolving. -if player2 does not respond to the card or ability player1 played/used(C), player1 follows all the rules on the card(tactic or ability) or it enters play(character, item, location).(Note: On cards with enters play triggers, Players Can Not respond to "triggers", that means Any trigger.)

Now Player 1 gets the chance to respond to B again. -after his first (C) response is completed, he can then respond again to (B). (Note: Players Can Not respond to their own abilities, cards, or ending of turn.)

Player 1 responds to B with D. -nothing wrong with that
Player 2 can respond to D now, but he refuses.
Card D is resolving. -(D) happens just as I explained for (C).

Now Player 1 gets the chance to respond to B again, but refuses.
Card B is resolving. -happens like (C) and (D).

Now Player 2 gets the chance to respond to A again, but refuses.
Card A is resolving. -like above.

At first I thought you were asking a question, then when I was typing it I saw that you got it right(if not explained it thoroughly enough for my liking) but I just wanted to add to it to make it more clear on what can and cant be done.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Artur Baginski
Germany
49074 Osnabrück
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think most users will be confused at the latest now ^^

So what Froto had done is a more precise version, there is nothing wrong with the original, that could be not very clear.

The best and easiest way to learn The Spoils right now is to get it explained by a friend.

The current rulebook was only designed for the purpose of reference or for more experienced ccg players. But there will be a new version which will be designed for new players, certainly with the release of the next set "Seed".

But everyone is invited to ask their questions here, we will be here to explain this great game
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ramon Garcia
Philippines
Pasig
Metro Manila
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Johnny_Bravo wrote:

@lordkuato
I miss your litte "lord kuato does..." sentences


Heh, that's reserved for The Spoils forums... most people on here just wouldn't get it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lester Dizon
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually that all makes sense, Johnny_Bravo and Froto. Thanks for the detail. I wish I could get someone local to show me how to play but it's been difficult getting my schedule to match up with the local players. I'll have to give MWS a shot.

Another question: a faction can gain more than the starting 25 influence, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Artur Baginski
Germany
49074 Osnabrück
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Another question: a faction can gain more than the starting 25 influence, right?


Yes.
There is no restriction at all to numbers, except that they can't go below zero.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.