GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

8,957 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
18 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Cry Havoc» Forums » Rules

Subject: Trog Scoring rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Barnett
Canada
Newmarket
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quick question about Trog scoring that came up in our 4p game.

When adding up crystals and rounding do you add up the total crystals and round or do you round each region individually?

Example:


4 regions w/ 1,5,4,3 crystals = 13 total crystals controlled

If we add them all together the Trog player would score 7 points.

If we round each region they would score 8 points.

(1=1 pt, 5=3 pts, 4=2 pts, 3=2 pts)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jared Trisciuzzi
United States
Riverside
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Trogs round up, according to the rule book. So in your example they would score 8.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Barnett
Canada
Newmarket
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule book doesn't specify if you add all crystals from all regions together first though.

If I missed that section please point it out to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark etwell
Canada
Aurora
ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
it doesnt say anywhere that you score each region individually, so I'm not sure why you would do that for the trogs? just add up all crystals and divide by 2 right?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Kelly
United States
Richardson
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 13 says "During the scoring phase, Trogs only score half the total points for Crystals located in Regions under their Control, rounded up."
This makes me lean toward the interpretation that one should add up the crystals in all regions first, divide by 2, and then round if necessary, rather than do one region at a time.

However, I'm with Mike: I'd live to hear Grant chime in on this one.
TK
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Rodiek
United States
Redwood City
CA
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Update: I was wrong. See below.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Crazy Adam
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
Congratulations. You have just discovered the secret message.
badge
Please send your answer to Old Pink, care of the Funny Farm, Chalfont.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
HerrohGrant wrote:
Tally each region, round up, individually.

So if you have 5 Regions with 3, 2, 1, 5, 3, you'd score:

2, 1, 1, 3, 2 points.

This slightly helps the Trogs recoup some for their point penalty.

Also, I like the Come and Take it, Tim. (I grew up in TX)


Wow! And once more I find out about yet another thing I've been doing wrong when playing Cry Havoc.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
X Shrike
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
HerrohGrant wrote:
Tally each region, round up, individually.

So if you have 5 Regions with 3, 2, 1, 5, 3, you'd score:

2, 1, 1, 3, 2 points.

This slightly helps the Trogs recoup some for their point penalty.

Also, I like the Come and Take it, Tim. (I grew up in TX)


Wow. That really needs to go into the FAQ.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott DeMers
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
HerrohGrant wrote:
Tally each region, round up, individually.

So if you have 5 Regions with 3, 2, 1, 5, 3, you'd score:

2, 1, 1, 3, 2 points.

This slightly helps the Trogs recoup some for their point penalty.

Also, I like the Come and Take it, Tim. (I grew up in TX)


Interesting and disappointing. In every single game I have played, the Trogs need no help... at all.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Rodiek
United States
Redwood City
CA
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi -- I'm wrong. Sorry.

I'll fix my other response.

Sum all Trog crystals. Divide by 2.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Barnett
Canada
Newmarket
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks so much for the clarification Grant!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.