Subject: New to gaming, what are your essential games? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
CT Rentschler
United States
Johns Creek
Georgia
flag msg tools
Like the title to this thread says, I am new to tabletop gaming and wanted to know what are some board games that you think are essential for a board game collection? I know part of this depends on subjective tastes but I just wanted to get some recommendations for must buys or games to get when starting your collection.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dejun King
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Essential lighter games to start a collection for me would be titles like:
Lords of Waterdeep
Pandemic
Ticket to Ride
Carcassonne

Games like this tend to let new gamers get a taste of what modern board gaming can be and from there most usually fall deeper and deeper into this wonderful rabbit hole.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul DeStefano
United States
Long Island
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
It's a Zendrum. www.zendrum.com
mbmbmbmbmb
Star Realms or Dominion to add a deck builder.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan
New Zealand
Auckland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Gateway:
Catan
Ticket to Ride
Alhambra

Worker Placement
Stone Age

Social Deduction
The Resistance

Cooperative
Pandemic
Flash Point: Fire Rescue

Drafting
Sushi Go!
7 Wonders

Role Selection
Citadels

Deck Building
Dominion.
Star Realms

2 Player
Lost Cities
Battle Line

Party Game
Codenames
Incan Gold
Wits & Wagers

More ideas here: http://www.dicetower.com/game-video/top-ten-gateway-games-ne...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel B
Sweden
Umeå
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Small World
King of Tokyo
Sheriff of Nottingham

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris G
United States
Philadelphia
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Cosmic Encounter
The Resistance: Avalon
Coup