On page 8 of the rulebook, under 'range' it says:
'When measuring the range, count the number of squares from the firing unit to the target unit.(not diagonally). If the range of the weapon is less than or equal to the distance, and line of sight is not blocked, then the unit can fire'.
I'm just checking the obvious.. The range of the weapon surely needs to be equal or greater than the distance measured to be in range right?
The black box example on the same page contradicts that paragraph , (showing the weapons' range to be less than the distance measured, but therefore not eligible to attack).
The example in the black box is correct whilst the paragraph I quoted is incorrect, am I right?
I believe you are correct. We've not had anyone else point that out, so it seems that everyone reads the correct meaning, even though it's stated incorrectly. The example is correct.
The text should read: "If the range of the weapon is greater than or equal to the distance, and line of sight is not blocked, then the unit can fire."
Many apologies for the error.