Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Trickerion: Legends of Illusion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions after solo play rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tim Loonen
Netherlands
flag msg tools
Avatar
Hi all,

I played the base game once (solo for 2p) and enjoyed it a lot! Had couple of questions though;

- Starting bonus for a trick if you meet the requirements; Does the components on the specialist board also count for this one?

- If I prepare a trick on thursday, without performing; do I get the cuts in my yield bonus if someone else performs and choses my performance card?

Next week I'm having a BGMEET and want to introduce this game. It can be a bit overwhelming, but do you guys have any tips for this? I think about introducing the advanced game with only dark alley activated.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Onyx
msg tools
1. No, you choose starting trick and receive the free set up action before you choose your specialist.
2. Yes, modifiers apply even if you don't perform with your own magician. This is outlined on page 17 of the rulebook, in the upper right hand corner.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Schmidt
Sweden
Malmö
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Loonens wrote:
- Starting bonus for a trick if you meet the requirements; Does the components on the specialist board also count for this one?


Yes, absolutely

Loonens wrote:
- If I prepare a trick on thursday, without performing; do I get the cuts in my yield bonus if someone else performs and choses my performance card?


Kind of. It doesn't matter on what day you stood when you placed it, but it does matter where you stand when it's performed. If it's performed in the same round as you placed it, that will be the same thing, but if it's performed in a different round, you might be on a different day or not in the theatre at all.

If you have any character in the theatre when one of your tricks is performed, you always get the bonus or reduction from the day you are standing on, if any. If you do not have any character in the theatre (on stage or backstage) when the trick is performed, you get the same modifier as the magician that is doing the performance.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Schmidt
Sweden
Malmö
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mattonyx wrote:
1. No, you choose starting trick and receive the free set up action before you choose your specialist.


Really? Hmm… I'm going for my rulebook this instant
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Schmidt
Sweden
Malmö
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SpecularRain wrote:
mattonyx wrote:
1. No, you choose starting trick and receive the free set up action before you choose your specialist.


Really? Hmm… I'm going for my rulebook this instant


Hmm again…

The Important-box explaining that does come before the step where the specialist is chosen. I just always thought of this whole section as being one step, with the bullets outlining what needs to be done, not indicating that order matters.

What's interesting is that in the General Setup, the order of the steps really doesn't matter, but there they've used numbered points, as if the order did matter. I'm confused…

I'll search the forum to see if there's an official answer for this somewhere. Otherwise I'll GM the creators and ask.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Schmidt
Sweden
Malmö
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Found it:

petervik wrote:
The answer is yes - the Manager's components are part of your starting components too, so you may use them for the "free" prepare action at the start of the game.

https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22106603#22106603

A related point about whether you get a free prepare for the extra trick on the Engineers board:

petervik wrote:
The answer for this is no. The free Prepare action applies to your chosen starting Trick, but according to the ruling of the Engineer's bonus, what you get is:

"A Trick card of the player’s choice with Fame
Threshold of 1, chosen after all starting Tricks have been
selected"

...but the free Prepare applies only to the chosen starting Trick, the one that's in your default Workshop.

https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22106882#22106882
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Loonen
Netherlands
flag msg tools
Avatar
SpecularRain wrote:
Found it:

petervik wrote:
The answer is yes - the Manager's components are part of your starting components too, so you may use them for the "free" prepare action at the start of the game.

https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22106603#22106603

A related point about whether you get a free prepare for the extra trick on the Engineers board:

petervik wrote:
The answer for this is no. The free Prepare action applies to your chosen starting Trick, but according to the ruling of the Engineer's bonus, what you get is:

"A Trick card of the player’s choice with Fame
Threshold of 1, chosen after all starting Tricks have been
selected"

...but the free Prepare applies only to the chosen starting Trick, the one that's in your default Workshop.

https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22106882#22106882


That's just awesome! Thank you for your trouble! Clears a lot for me .
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.