$15.00
$20.00
$5.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Airfix Battles» Forums » General

Subject: Grenades v American Captain rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim . K
United Kingdom
Southend-on-Sea
Essex
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
The American Captain has a special ability which ensures he always gets a cover save whenever he gets hit.

Grenades, when rolled, do not allow any cover saves after hitting.

Which rule/ability supercedes which, and why? :-D
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Paull
United Kingdom
HUNTINGDON
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
JimBGG wrote:
The American Captain has a special ability which ensures he always gets a cover save whenever he gets hit.

Grenades, when rolled, do not allow any cover saves after hitting.

Which rule/ability supercedes which, and why? :-D


Hi Jim.K

The Hero ability is a special one that always applies, so cards with the Hero ability will receive a save, even against grenades. Consider it to be a heroic save, rather than a cover save. Note: he'll only get a single save, so if a Captain is hit when he's in cover, he'll only get 1 chance to save his skin, not 2.

The reason is that we want the heroes to have a chance to be heroic in all circumstances; it can add to the drama. I had a game where my lonely sole surviving Captain was able to survive and retake a building on his own because of heroic saves. There's always a slim chance for a hero.

Alan Paull
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.