Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Conan» Forums » Rules

Subject: Exploding orb rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Arian Drake-Raue
msg tools
Is it a single use item or can you pick it up again after a throw and reuse?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rockatansky Ash
msg tools
It explode, so only one use.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andi Anonymous
Germany
flag msg tools
Basically it's a handgrenade. Single use only.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Beal
Germany
Geltendorf
Bayern
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Pyramidou wrote:
It explode, so only one use.


i dunno - a lot of people in this forum have exploded repeatedly during the past two weeks :/.
17 
 Thumb up
1.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Blake
Spain
Barcelona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But this an area effect item. Can be thrown away one area? Or should be thrown in the same area the hero currently is, harming it himself?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathieu Hatt
France
Brest
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Robert Blake wrote:
But this an area effect item. Can be thrown away one area? Or should be thrown in the same area the hero currently is, harming it himself?


You can throw it like any other object to a given distance (as many areas away as the number of successes you get on the dice), and then it explodes in the designated area. Of course you could also send it at your own feet if you are surrounded by ennemies, just make sure you can dodge or suffer the damages better than your foes
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Beal
Germany
Geltendorf
Bayern
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
mathhatt wrote:
You can throw it like any other object to a given distance (as many areas away as the number of successes you get on the dice)


A tiny pedantic clarification: up to as many areas away as the number of successes...

i.e. the number of successes determines the maximum range, not the exact range.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Claus Appel
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Abbath wrote:
Basically it's a handgrenade. Single use only.

According to what source?

And do you need to spend gems to use it? Page 18 of the Heroes' Book says:
Quote:
An item is used as a free action (without assigning gems) unless otherwise stated.

Next to this is an example of an Explosive Orb. There is no explanation of what counts as "otherwise stated".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Beal
Germany
Geltendorf
Bayern
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
SpectrumDT wrote:
Abbath wrote:
Basically it's a handgrenade. Single use only.

According to what source?


Many have eloquently argued that, because it explodes, it is necessarily a single-use item.

SpectrumDT wrote:

And do you need to spend gems to use it? Page 18 of the Heroes' Book says:
Quote:
An item is used as a free action (without assigning gems) unless otherwise stated.

Next to this is an example of an Explosive Orb. There is no explanation of what counts as "otherwise stated".


The Hand (Manipulation) symbol on the card is the "otherwise stated" part.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Palm
msg tools
SpectrumDT wrote:
Abbath wrote:
Basically it's a handgrenade. Single use only.

According to what source?

And do you need to spend gems to use it? Page 18 of the Heroes' Book says:
Quote:
An item is used as a free action (without assigning gems) unless otherwise stated.

Next to this is an example of an Explosive Orb. There is no explanation of what counts as "otherwise stated".


Please play a session where Explosive Orb is a free action with unlimited uses and post your impressions here.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.