Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Mechs vs. Minions» Forums » Rules

Subject: Tristana Overdrive Ability rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jerry Krane
msg tools
Does Tristana's overdrive ability allow you to remove a single target within 2 range? Or all targets within 2 range?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's one target. While 'any' can mean 'all' in some circumstances, that is almost never the case in board games rules. If they had meant it to be 'all', they would have made it clearer in the wording.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerry Krane
msg tools
Thanks!

We were confused as most cards specifically call out 1, 2, etc targets while this seemed ambiguous.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Brum
United States
Ewa Beach
Hawaii
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ablege wrote:
Does Tristana's overdrive ability allow you to remove a single target within 2 range? Or all targets within 2 range?


We have been playing it removes all targets within range 2.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron S
United States
Ventura
California
flag msg tools
I don't remember what I ate last night
badge
but I can spout off obscure rules to all sorts of game like nobody's business!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The key, subtle indication here is that it says 'any minion' within range, not 'any minions'. If it were plural, you should kill them all. It's not, so you should only kill one.

It certainly would be better if they indicated 1 instead.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Earl Spriggs

Reno
Nevada
msg tools
runtsta wrote:
The key, subtle indication here is that it says 'any minion' within range, not 'any minions'. If it were plural, you should kill them all. It's not, so you should only kill one.

It certainly would be better if they indicated 1 instead.


It says to any target. Not the same. It has to be just 1 though. Not balanced otherwise
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron S
United States
Ventura
California
flag msg tools
I don't remember what I ate last night
badge
but I can spout off obscure rules to all sorts of game like nobody's business!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DukeEarl wrote:
runtsta wrote:
The key, subtle indication here is that it says 'any minion' within range, not 'any minions'. If it were plural, you should kill them all. It's not, so you should only kill one.

It certainly would be better if they indicated 1 instead.


It says to any target. Not the same. It has to be just 1 though. Not balanced otherwise

Right. My point still stands: it's singular, not plural.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Tiras
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Correct! It is 1 single target, not all valid targets!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.