$20.00
$15.00
$30.00
$5.00
Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Conquest of Paradise» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about use of Arts & culture Cards that grant Battle Bonus rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tony Farrand
United States
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmb
Hello. My apologies if this has been answered elsewhere.

From page 10 of 2nd ed rules section 9.5: "Battle Bonus: Some cards provide a Battle bonus. A player with two or more of these cards may use each card in every Battle. However, each die roll may only be affected by ONE card; therefore, the defender must be allowed to elect (or decline) to use a card before the attacker does."

Please clarify:

1) Does this mean that if the defender chooses to modify a battle roll with one of their cards, then the attacker cannot use a card to modify that roll? (one and only one card can modify a battle die roll...)

2) Can a card be used for multiple rolls in a battle? Or is a card "spent" if it's used to modify a battle die roll and unusable until another battle?

Thanks.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin McPartland
United States
Jessup
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Oliver Hazard Perry leader counter from Amateurs, To Arms! by Clash of Arms Games.
badge
Warrior Band counter for Conquest of Paradise by GMT Games.
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi! Some answers for you:

ErnestBORG9 wrote:
1) Does this mean that if the defender chooses to modify a battle roll with one of their cards, then the attacker cannot use a card to modify that roll? (one and only one card can modify a battle die roll...)

Yes, that's what it means.

ErnestBORG9 wrote:
2) Can a card be used for multiple rolls in a battle? Or is a card "spent" if it's used to modify a battle die roll and unusable until another battle?

The Tattoo, Haka, and Cannibalism cards read: "One enemy Panic roll in each battle..." They all only work for one enemy roll in each battle. The two Pa cards read: "... ignore all enemy rolls of '4'" (on the other Pa card it says "5"). So they keep working for multiple rolls. The Marae, Arioi and Kahuna Healing cards read "...when this card is revealed." So they only work once per card.

How the cards can be used is pretty clearly spelled out on the cards.

Thanks for quoting the relevant rule in you question! Always useful...

Kevin
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Farrand
United States
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmb
Super! Thank you for the quick and friendly response...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Bennett
United States
Rougemont
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
Play. Always.
mbmbmbmbmb
wrote:
A player with two or more of these cards may use each card in every Battle.


Is this saying that players with one card CAN'T use it? Or just that you can use all the cards you have every battle (follow the other rules)? It could be read either way!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin McPartland
United States
Jessup
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Oliver Hazard Perry leader counter from Amateurs, To Arms! by Clash of Arms Games.
badge
Warrior Band counter for Conquest of Paradise by GMT Games.
mbmbmbmbmb
Hmmm... I should really just let the cards do the talking...

pusherman42 wrote:
Is this saying that players with one card CAN'T use it?

Of course not. If you have the card, you can use it.

pusherman42 wrote:
It could be read either way!

Not if you just read what it says on the cards. There are two Tattoo cards in the deck. They say just one use per battle. But of course if you have BOTH of the cards in your hand, then your people must have some really fierce tattoos, and you can use each card in every battle.

Hope this helps!

Kevin
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bernhard Vierthaler
Austria
Salzburg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to be sure: One card can always be played AFTER a battle roll, not before. Is that correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin McPartland
United States
Jessup
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Oliver Hazard Perry leader counter from Amateurs, To Arms! by Clash of Arms Games.
badge
Warrior Band counter for Conquest of Paradise by GMT Games.
mbmbmbmbmb
Bernhard Vierthaler wrote:
Just to be sure: One card can always be played AFTER a battle roll, not before. Is that correct?

Correct. You really don't want to play a card until after the die is rolled- especially if you are revealing the card for the first time.

This is a common mistake of new players- they will reveal a card like Tattoo as soon as a battle is declared! But often, it can't be used- say, when the attack involves two units, and the first is Removed (can't use Tattoo) and the second Panics (pointless to use Tattoo- there is only one unit left). So now, everybody knows the player has the Tattoo card, and he must count the VP in the Victory Point step, making it that much less likely for him to be in last place (and determine turn order or draw a Random Event).

Reveal the card when you can use it.

Kevin
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alessandro Trovato
Italy
Rome
ITALY
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
wrote:
A player with two or more of these cards may use each card in every Battle.


I confess that I still have problem to understand this "two or more cards" specification.
Some cards can be used once per battle, others are always in effect, other only once overall. If I have only one card in my hand I can use it anyway in every battle. Which scenario is that phrase covering?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin McPartland
United States
Jessup
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Oliver Hazard Perry leader counter from Amateurs, To Arms! by Clash of Arms Games.
badge
Warrior Band counter for Conquest of Paradise by GMT Games.
mbmbmbmbmb
alextrov wrote:
wrote:
A player with two or more of these cards may use each card in every Battle.
Which scenario is that phrase covering?

Example:

You hold both the Haka card and the Tattoo card. (That's two cards.)

Somebody attacks you with three Warrior Bands riding on three War canoes (a total of six attacking battle pieces). His first roll is a 2, causing one of his battle pieces to Panic. But you use your Haka card, which forces TWO of his battle pieces to Panic.

Next, he rolls another 2. You can NOT use your Haka card again- the card says "once in each Battle...". So instead, you use your Tattoo card! Again, TWO of his battle pieces must Panic.

Next, he rolls yet another 2. You have used both your Haka card and your Tattoo card. You have no other Arts & Culture cards that will help you in Battle. Only ONE of his battle pieces must Panic.

That same player attacks you with his other War Canoes and Warrior Bands in another location. This is another Battle. He rolls a 2 (is this die weighted?!?). You can again use your Tattoo card once again in this Battle! He rolls another 2. You can use your Haka card once again in this Battle. Then again, they're done for this battle.

Hope this helps!

Kevin
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alessandro Trovato
Italy
Rome
ITALY
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

So that phrase in the rule simply means "A player can play more than one card in every battle if applicable"

Thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.