$15.00
$30.00
$20.00
$5.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Napoleon against Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: An Army group activation rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Piotr Pietia
Poland
flag msg tools
Is it possible to consider a group of armies (two armies of the same side in one region)eligible for 1 activation as a 1 force commanded by the superior general?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Åkerlund
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
There can only be one force of the same side in a zone at the end
of all movement, evasion, interception, counter-marches and
retreat.(9.2 2nd ed.rules)

Anytime two or more forces of the same side end up in the same zone
they have to combine into one.

4 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Piotr Pietia
Poland
flag msg tools
Sure, a force can consist of 2 armies. The question is whether it can be activated and move as one. The other doubt of my adversary concerns command capacity of leader of such force. Is it in force max double capacity? We have that situation: Kutuzov and Brunsh. met and had formed an army group. They carry 14 steps each. Can they be both activated simultaneously as 1 force and move together at the cost of 3 AP?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Åkerlund
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb

What the rules say is: a) an Army is a force and b) there can only be one force of the same side in a zone.
If you have two armies, say a Russian and an Prussian one, and you want to move them together, you must first merge them into one Army Force, following the procedure in 10.1 (2nd ed.).



2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Åkerlund
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb

So, I've plowed through that horrible site that is Consimworld and found a better answer to your question. Straight from the horse's mouth as it were:

An "army group" (2 armies) can be activated if both armies are located in the same zone at the beginning of the activation; the cost is the initiative value of the army group commander +1 with a maximum of 3. With this combination, each army has its own stacking (Commander Value x2). This means that you cannot activate a lone army and pick up during your movement a second army.

It doesn't prevent to stack 2 armies during movement, escape, interception, sound to the guns etc... but both armies cannot be activated together unless they start together the round of activation.


I hope that helps

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.