$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Harry Potter: Hogwarts Battle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Value vs. Cost (Year 3 spoiler) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert O'Hearne
United States
Chelmsford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So, the first time we played the game, we played up to year 3, and the first two villains we flip are Lucius and Pettigrew. It's the first time we see Pettigrew's text:

Pettigrew wrote:
Active Hero reveals the top card of his or her deck. If its value is 1 or more [influence], add 1 [control token] to the Location.


All we have in our deck are the starting cards. We're looking at them, asking, what is their value? We decide it has a value of 1 or more influence if it grants 1 or more influence.

So we didn't win.

Later we realized Pettigrew refers to the card's cost, which for the starter cards is zero.

OK, we're a little slow, but if the game term was "cost" instead of "value" this never would have been a question...

[And yes, "Value" is the term used in the rulebook in the diagram of such a card. Didn't look there.]
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Webster
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think they used Value instead of cost because you acquire cards with influence instead of money.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Cook
United States
Spanaway
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We just played year 3 a few nights ago. I thought this was going to be a discussion on strategy - choosing what or whether to buy by looking at the cost of a card relative to its actual value to you, haha.
We didn't come across the problem you did, but I can see the confusion. Glad you already sorted it out!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.