$35.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Tyrants of the Underdark» Forums » Rules

Subject: Playing Insane Outcast without resolving its effect? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bill H
United States
Rensselaer
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you play an Insane Outcast (or any other card, for that matter) without resolving its effect? The reason I ask - is if you can, then you could use a Black Earth Cultist to promote it (return the IO to the supply).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tahsin Shamma
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, I believe you can do this. Only if you want to get rid of it do you need to resolve its effect.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill H
United States
Rensselaer
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That's how we played it. Thanks for the quick response!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Browes
United Kingdom
London
Tooting
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to cover this properly, Choosing to resolve a card effect that has a cost (any with the black arrow) is optional, if you decline to pay the cost, you don't get the effect.

Other card abilities are not optional and must be as completely as possible when played.

It's all covered, somewhat briefly, on p9 of the rules.

So you played Insane Outcast right, but your 'or any other card' suggestion isn't correct.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Ruf
United States
Acworth
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Interociter wrote:
Just to cover this properly, Choosing to resolve a card effect that has a cost (any with the black arrow) is optional, if you decline to pay the cost, you don't get the effect.

Other card abilities are not optional and must be as completely as possible when played.

It's all covered, somewhat briefly, on p9 of the rules.

So you played Insane Outcast right, but your 'or any other card' suggestion isn't correct.


This.

Card effects are NOT optional unless they have a cost with the black arrow. On the other hand you DO NOT HAVE to play every card in your hand.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.