$20.00
$5.00
$15.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
20 Posts

SeaFall» Forums » Rules

Subject: "Highest Rank"? [box 5 spoilers] rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Casual Tryhard
msg tools
How is the explorer's/soldier's guild member "of highest rank" determined for the purpose of seasonal events?

Is a general check done at the time the event resolves? Does the event apply only to advisors who have already been interrogated and their rank established?

Not only is this not made clear in the rules, but our playgroup can't even agree on a way of doing it that seems to make sense.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
TJ
United States
Burbank
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "Highest Rank"? [Mild spoilers]
JR told me it's only advisors with a visible rank written on them.


Maybe put "Box 5 spoilers" in the subject
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Casual Tryhard
msg tools
So the event will be irrelevant a great majority of the time? Ok.

A lot was left extremely vague in the rules as written.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hexprone wrote:
A lot was left extremely vague in the rules as written.

Could be said for just about the entire game. We have 2 boxes left to open, and the number of questions is unacceptable (Some of which are still unanswered or being discussed in other threads).

At one point I asked, completely honestly, whether Rob Daviau was a non-English speaker and the game was translated from another language.

If I was a playtester of this game (which I feel like at this point), I would have at least 2-3 pages of errors and ambiguities.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not too surprised by the number of questions, but I'm pretty surprised (and fairly disappointed) that Rob hasn't been more active in providing an official FAQ/Errata.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JR Honeycutt
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Hexprone wrote:
How is the explorer's/soldier's guild member "of highest rank" determined for the purpose of seasonal events?

Is a general check done at the time the event resolves? Does the event apply only to advisors who have already been interrogated and their rank established?

Not only is this not made clear in the rules, but our playgroup can't even agree on a way of doing it that seems to make sense.


Hang on, let me ping Rob for this. I thought I was answering a different question when I provided a previous answer.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JR Honeycutt
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, this is from Rob after I checked with him:

"Shine the light on all guild members owned by all players when the event resoles. The highest number is the highest rank. This may expose new members of the society."

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
TJ
United States
Burbank
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I assume we shine it so everybody can see?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JR Honeycutt
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Grant
Australia
flag msg tools
I disagree.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
When we read this rule we thought the same but re reading it was "highest society member" which were only members of "Tortosa", and all of their cards have the rank clearly visible. Regardless of the guild they belong to.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
AJ Harris
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
...but even the hidden ones are "society members," they're just being moles for the Society and infiltrating the provinces. I'm gonna have to side with the creator of the game over you on this one.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Goodridge
United States
Windsor Locks
Connecticut
flag msg tools
I don't want it, I don't need it, but I can't stop myself. - Stabbing Westward
mbmbmbmbmb
So if you look at all owned advisors of that type, are you getting glory and/or stickers for them?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
AJ Harris
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Cardboardjunkie wrote:
So if you look at all owned advisors of that type, are you getting glory and/or stickers for them?


No, because it isn't during your activating step on your turn. It's an event.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Pelkofer
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
much0gust0 wrote:
Cardboardjunkie wrote:
So if you look at all owned advisors of that type, are you getting glory and/or stickers for them?


No, because it isn't during your activating step on your turn. It's an event.


Agreed. This is clearly different from interrogating them, which is when you would get glory and read an entry.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
nick young
New Zealand
flag msg tools
Is it your own enmity or opponents enmity that you place? Are these events good or bad...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
j n
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Your own. The events are bad.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Addington
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmb
mrhoohex wrote:
Is it your own enmity or opponents enmity that you place? Are these events good or bad...


You'll find out when you open box 5.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Nelson
Canada
Ladner
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have another question for when these events come up. Is this subject to the standard tie-breaker if no player controls a relevant advisor? I'm the current Prince in our campaign, and we didn't want to stop to look it up last night, so I just said go with the standard tie-breaker and I'll deal with the penalties. That led to me placing 3 permanent enmity, then having to sink a ship the very next round... it was painful.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
j n
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I believe they are supposed to do nothing if no player controls a relevant advisor. At least, that's how we've been playing it. If not, I need to put some more enmity on the board.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
lactamaeon wrote:
The events are bad.

Not always true...

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.