Yesterday, I played my first FoD 3Ed game, so my question may be a little too basic, I know. Forgive me if so. In my discharge I've to say that I've scanned through this forum and I've not found a thread regarding it.
The rules say that in combat the hunter must play a banner card. But the holly bullet card has no banner in it. Instead, it says something like "must be played after a gun card is resolved". Does it mean that "holly bullet" is played just after a vampire is harmed by a gun and without having to wait for another turn? And, what happens if the gun car is blocked? Can the hunter wait until the vampire is hit with a gun effectively to be able to use it?
As you say it is played after it has been determined that the gun has done damage. This is an additional card play to the play of the gun.
If the gun is blocked the card is not resolved, so you can't play Holy Bullets.