Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Mea Culpa» Forums » Rules

Subject: Pope in the house of pleasure rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Netherlands
Enschede
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We had the case that the pope went to the house of pleasure, didn't get caught, but (as we weren't paying enough attention while picking) went to a place where the card had a cost of 3 on the etched post, and he was already at 4 (so unable to pay the 3).

We played that that was an illegal choice, and the pope-player went 1 step towards hell, put the etched post on 6, and didn't get to do the action (because of what it says in the note in the 'privilege of the pope' box under 'Visit the house of pleasure') . Was this the right thing to do?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oliver Richtberg
Germany
Munich
flag msg tools
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it's according to the rules (English rules page 18, Privilege of the pope -box at the end).devil

Cheers, Oliver from Zoch.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Netherlands
Enschede
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dave evans
United Kingdom
iPSWICH
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But the rules say:

If he is not caught, he needs neither to rotate his etched
post higher nor place a sin stone in the Den of Lust.


So why would it matter if the card cost was higher than his etched post allows .... since he doesn't need to rotate it anyway?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jimmy Lee
United States
FLORHAM PARK
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
droogiefret wrote:
But the rules say:

If he is not caught, he needs neither to rotate his etched
post higher nor place a sin stone in the Den of Lust.


So why would it matter if the card cost was higher than his etched post allows .... since he doesn't need to rotate it anyway?


That is also what I thought.
Can the publisher confirm this?
Also, with the rules currently written:
Quote:
Advised by the other players, the player whose poor soul
lies nearest Hell declares where he believes the Pope to be
visiting.

It actually doesn't forbid the Pope from guessing where himself is, if the Pope is the one whose poor soul lies nearest Hell!
Obviously it is implied that the Pope would not participate in the guessing process, but there is always that one guy in your group who says "That's not how the rules are written"shake
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian K
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
droogiefret wrote:
But the rules say:

If he is not caught, he needs neither to rotate his etched
post higher nor place a sin stone in the Den of Lust.


So why would it matter if the card cost was higher than his etched post allows .... since he doesn't need to rotate it anyway?

I am very cofused, could the publisher elaborate here? If the pope goes to a card and is not caught, should he pay the etches or not?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rüdiger Kopf
Germany
flag msg tools
The Ability:
If the pope wants to go to the house of pleasure, he has to be able to do it (could pay the cost). Becuase he could be catched and could have to pay, he must be able to do this. If not, he may not join the room.

Who decide:
Any other player who is nearest to hell, has to decide where the pope is - not the pope itself for sure.

If caught:
If the pope has been caught, he has to pay the "normal" costs for the room AND 1 step to hell in extra.

4 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian K
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.