Subject: Hyde Park/Chicago Gamers? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tony Bates

Seattle
Washington
msg tools
Hi folks,

I'm a new grad student at UChicago and am looking for some people who might want to play games from time to time. I have a collection of 30-40 games but no friends to play with!

Favorites include: Twilight Struggle, Dominant Species, Food Chain Magnate, Agricola/Le Havre/Caverna, Race for the Galaxy, Dominion, Nations, Tzolkin, Keyflower, etc.

I definitely don't like party/social games like Munchkin, Exploding whatevers, or Cards against Humanity. I don't prefer lighter games like Catan or 7 Wonders. Hoping to find someone who likes the same meatier games that I do!

If you're in Hyde Park or close by, let me know if you'd like to meet up sometime. Thanks!

Cheers,
Tony
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Best luck. I forget what the websites are, but it might be worth posting on the UofC ones if you haven't already. I feel like you might get more traction. We moved from Hyde Park to the north side, so I've got nothing for you.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Goirish 374
msg tools
Tony,

I feel cut from some of the same cloth. i also just moved to chicago (south loop) and am an avid gamer with a sizeable collection--but haven't yet established a gaming group.

I've had fun with lighter games but feel i've definitely outgrown the "gateway games" like catan, ticket to ride, carcassone, etc.

Favorites include: twilight struggle, scythe, TI3, game of thrones, rebellion, brewcrafters, sentinels, new salem, secret hitler, avalon, a few acres of snow.

I also am fascinated by (but inexperienced at) a number of heavier games like Fire in the Lake, Liberty or Death, Washington's War, labyrinth. I anxiously await delivery of Imperial Struggle and Bayonets & Tomahawks...one of these days i will take on Empire of the Sun and Sekigahara.