Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Catan: Cities & Knights» Forums » Rules

Subject: Commercial Harbor issues... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Smatt Read
United States
Missoula
Montana
flag msg tools
mb
Ok, I played my first game of Cities and Knights, and we ran across this little rules question.

The progress card called "Commercial Harbor" said something like "you may offer one or more players a single resource card in exchange for the commodity card of your choice." When you look at the rules, it confirms that this is indeed a forced trade, but what it also adds muddies the issue. The rules clarification says something like "if your opponent has more than one commodity card, that opponent may choose which commodity card to give you."

Our interpretation based on the combination of the card's text and the rules clarification is this: you can force a trade, resource for commodity, the priority goes to what you want, if your opponent doesn't have what you called out, they get to choose what to give you.

Does anyone have the actual final word on this? Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mik Svellov
Denmark
Copenhagen N
EU
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The final word can found in the official FAQ on www.siedlen.de =
http://www.siedeln.de/faq/204_163_de.html

The official answer reads:
Quote:
The one playing the card chooses one of his Resource cards which he gives to his fellow player face down; this player must give a Commodity card in return if he has one.

Both players select their own card: the player playing the card decides which resource to give away; the other who must give up a Commodity, decides which of his Commity cards he will give in return.
The exchange then happends with hidden cards.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls