Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

A Feast for Odin» Forums » Rules

Subject: Example Page 9 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tom McGreevy
United States
Naples
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

This shows 3&4 silver incomes covered but the Wood Bonus uncovered. I thought that to cover the 3 silver income all spaces to the left have to be covered? Trying to understand placement of tiles on board.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Goldfarb
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Bonuses (such as, in this case, the wood bonus) count as already covering their space.
14 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean Kelly
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Pg 11 - "Some spaces in the placement area of your home board show a
goods symbol. These spaces count as already covered, but you
can cover them with goods tiles, if need be (according to the
placement rules, see “Anytime Actions” on page 12). If you leave
a goods space uncovered, but instead cover the 8 spaces around it,
you will receive that good as a bonus each round."

However... (and I think this is the part of the confusion)

Pg 7 - "Sooner or later you may wish to cover the goods spaces to
increase your income. (By doing so, you forfeit the bonus.)"

Making it sound like you need to cover the bonus spots to increase your income.

I've been playing it as if they are 'covered' as described on page 11.

Sean
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
GAF Blizzard
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
TimeOut wrote:
Pg 7 - "Sooner or later you may wish to cover the goods spaces to
increase your income. (By doing so, you forfeit the bonus.)"

Making it sound like you need to cover the bonus spots to increase your income.

I've been playing it as if they are 'covered' as described on page 11.

Sean

The "bonus of 1 mead" example picture on page 7 agrees with you. That layout would be impossible if the mead needed to be covered, since the income to the right is covered.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan The Dwarf
United States
Vermont
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The above responses are correct. The bonus spots do not need to be covered in order to cover and increase your income. However, you can cover the bonus spot if you need to in order to cover the spaces nearby. For example, if you wanted to increase your income and had the mead space and one adjacent space open but only had a two space good tile, you could cover the mead bonus space.

If surrounded the bonus spots will give you the shown bonus good but once covered will no longer give the bonus good.

Basically, you can cover the bonus spaces but you don't need to.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.