$35.00
Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
47 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » General Gaming

Subject: No money or time to play boardgames! How you deal with this?? Share your strategy! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
José Giménez
Paraguay
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Hi! I'm a Med student in my last year from Paraguay, from which you can deduce that I don't have much money to buy games (base cost + 17$ per kilo/2.2 pounds) or much time to enjoy this beauuuutiful hobbie.

So,I'm curious,what do you think or say to yourselves when you can't buy or play as many boardgames you would like?

I apologize for my English!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Cannon
United Kingdom
Hassocks
West Sussex
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As a father of two small children I share your frustration. Most of my gaming comes from iOS or android apps - they are much cheaper if you have a compatible device, and usually have an AI to play against for when finding/getting to a group is time-restrictive.

In terms of physical copies go for cheap-but-deep games like The Castles of Burgundy or Race for the Galaxy or Mottainai

or cheap-and-not-really-deep games like The Resistance, Hanabi or Patchwork

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bort
Australia
Brisbane
Qld
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just think about the games you do have, and can play - rather than the ones you cant
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derry Salewski
United States
Augusta
Maine
flag msg tools
. . . give a ship.
mbmbmbmbmb
Plenty of gaming websites that are free!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Mansfield
United States
Poway
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Any local game stores or meetups where you can play with others? Most people are usually willing to play and share their games with anyone who shows an interest.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Eldard
United States
Burke
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Tiago92 wrote: