$5.00
$15.00
$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Human Interface: Nakamura Tower» Forums » Rules

Subject: Using "Dodge reflex" as an active player rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Frank Washburn
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Say you're an active model, and you declare and execute your first action as a Move. Before you've finished your first move action, you get interrupted by a Fast Attack.

According to the rules, apparently you can execute a "dodge reflex" to attempt to escape damage.

Does this dodge reflex consume one of your actions?
If you succeed, can you finish your move? If you fail, can you finish your move?

Can you execute a second move action after a dodge reflex?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loig Roumois
Switzerland
Baden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
you can do as many dodge reflexes as you want. they do not count as actions and have no further consequence in the course of your turn.
Instead of a dodge reflex, you could do any of the other reactions (but these are limited to once per round, so choose carefully)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Krzysztof RabidBlackDog
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Dodge is passive, it just something like another wording for "soak roll"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Washburn
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
I'm talking about specifically as the ACTIVE player though. I'm aware that as the reactive player you can either fast attack or take cover once, but dodge infinitely.


Is this still true of the active player?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafal Baginski
Poland
flag msg tools
Hello,

Yes you can perform Dodge reflex reaction during your activation. In other case Active player cannot defend himself. After that Active player is able to finish his Move Action. In general this kind of reaction is defense mechanism based on instincts or in cpunk world neural cooprocessors. Think about the Dodge as an reaction looking like in Matrix movie when Neo try to avoid agent bullets I hope it would help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Washburn
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Hi there Rafal, thank you for the clarification.

So a scenario would happen like this:
Tomo spends a move action to move in a hallway.

He moves a single square, and then an enemy Fast Attacks as he crosses the enemy's line of sight.

Tomo executes a dodge reflex to determine whether he takes damage.

After that, regardless or not of whether he took damage, he is able to finish his move action that he had started, and then is free to take another action.

Is that correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafal Baginski
Poland
flag msg tools
Hello Frank,

Yes that is correct. In other case Tomo will be hit automatically. After that, he can finish move action or perform another action.

Cherry
Rafal
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.