$20.00
$15.00
$5.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Tiny Epic Kingdoms» Forums » Rules

Subject: Satyrs in 2-player game rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Fenton
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Satyr Magic Level 1 lets them gain Mana whenever there's a tie in war (for any player). Does this apply when fighting Neutral regions? Generally, since the player must meet or exceed the number of Neutral armies, most players do only the minimum (and meet the number of armies). This is also the only time in the game (other than with Orcs) that a tie results in a win for the attacker.

Is this considered a tie? In our game, the Satyrs attacked the Neutral armies, deliberately winning with a tie, and gained free Mana. Or if the other player attacked Neutrals, they had to win by +1 to prevent Satyrs from gaining Mana, which seemed to make it an extremely powerful 1st level Magic. Is it supposed to work that way, or is winning against the Neutrals not considered a tie?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Taylor
United Kingdom
FARINGDON
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd say you can't actually tie against neutral as you either win or lose. So you'd only get this if humans tie. But that's only because it seems too powerful if you allow it!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Coe
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
www.GamelynGames.com
badge
www.GamelynGames.com
mbmbmbmbmb
It's not a tie. Tie would go to the defender anyway and you'd lose.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Fenton
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
mgcoe wrote:
It's not a tie. Tie would go to the defender anyway and you'd lose.
In a two player game (2nd edition), war against the neutral armies is done different from normal.

Quote:
To win the war, the player must pay a war cost at least equal to or higher than to the current number of neutral meeples in play.

Though maybe it should be thought of as the neutral player bidding "# of neutral armies - 1"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Coe
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
www.GamelynGames.com
badge
www.GamelynGames.com
mbmbmbmbmb
dsdhornet wrote:
mgcoe wrote:
It's not a tie. Tie would go to the defender anyway and you'd lose.
In a two player game (2nd edition), war against the neutral armies is done different from normal.

Quote:
To win the war, the player must pay a war cost at least equal to or higher than to the current number of neutral meeples in play.

Though maybe it should be thought of as the neutral player bidding "# of neutral armies - 1"?


There's simply no ties with the neutral armies.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.