Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Star Wars: Rebellion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Combat with units and no dice rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Koolin
Netherlands
Noord-Brabant
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So this weekend we played our first game and this situation popped-up:

Rebels initiate combat with a couple of ground untis, two Rebel transports and a couple of fighters. To initiate a battle there is a Rebel leader present who has drawn some tactic cards. The ground units win the battle and take over the control of the planet (subjugation marker removed). The space battle goes quite differently. The Imperials have a number of TIE fighters and take out the Rebel fighters. What is left is one TIE fighter against two Rebel transports. Since the Rebels cannot roll dice and cannot play tactic cards, it is a guarantee win for the Imperials in the space area.

Since the ground battle is completed and the Rebels have taken over planet control, they do no want to retreat. Which means the Imperial player can keep playing cards and rolling dice until the TIE fighter destroys the transports. (Note: actually rolling dice is important, since it means that some tactic cards are actually send to the bottom of the deck after the combat is resolved).

I have been reading some threads here on the forum (http://boardgamegeek.com/article/22790574#22790574 and http://boardgamegeek.com/article/24085943#24085943 for example), which made me hesitate if we played it correctly. Now the question is, did we play it correctly? In my eyes it seems a normal decision to sacrifice the transports for the control on the planet. Also having different players control the space area and the planet area is natural (referencing to the blockade of systems).

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Koolin
Netherlands
Noord-Brabant
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In summary the question is: If one side cannot roll dice, does the combat continue until either one retreats or is destroyed?

What if none of the units can roll dice (with ion cannons in play for example)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are a few things you got wrong.

In the round the transports are left alone, they must retreat or they are destroyed. This is stated in the Combat section of the RRG, just before the Retreat information:
RRG - Combat wrote:
• During the retreat step, if the only Rebel ships in the
combat are Rebel Transports, they must retreat or they
are immediately destroyed.


So your transports couldn't hang around.

Your second mistake seems to be assuming that the Ground units needed to retreat with the Ships. This is not correct. While all Ships must retreat, you can pick and choose which ground troops remain in the system:
RRG - Combat wrote:
-- When a player retreats, he must move all of his ships out
of the system. The player can choose to leave ground units
and TIE Fighters behind in the system.

So you could have saved the transports and kept the Ground units in place.

The third error seems to be with how you are dealing Tactics cards. All Tactics cards, including those you didn't use and any in the discard pile are shuffled together. There is no placing cards on the bottom of the deck:
RRG - Combat wrote:
-- At the end of combat, players discard all tactic cards from their
hands. Then shuffle all tactic cards back into their decks.



Now onto your other question:
Koolin wrote:
In summary the question is: If one side cannot roll dice, does the combat continue until either one retreats or is destroyed?

Transports are destroyed in the retreat step if they are alone in their theater. The Death Star Under Construction and Structures are destroyed at the end of a combat round (after Retreat Step) if they are left alone in their theater.

Thus, all the units that can't roll dice have auto-destruction clauses so they never come up. But if Ion Cannons are involved, yes, the units would usually need to retreat or wait until they get destroyed.

Quote:
What if none of the units can roll dice (with ion cannons in play for example)?

This cannot happen due to the above. It is possible for there to be a Death Star shut down by Ion Cannons and the Rebel ships having nothing to hit with their dice, but this has been covered by the designers as the Rebels must show they have the capability to use Death Star Plans or they must retreat. If neither happens, they are destroyed.
14 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dominic Lauke
Germany
Görlitz
Sachsen
flag msg tools
badge
Sponsored by AR147
Avatar
mb
The combat continues until one side is victorious. (The other is destroyed or retreats from the battle) p.06

Furthermore it is possible to retreat only with the spaceships without taking the ground units. p.07

If the rebels only got buildings (ion canon / shield generator) they will be automatically destroyed. p.06
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Koolin
Netherlands
Noord-Brabant
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for all the answers and references to the rules. Did not imagine to do so much wrong within a single combat.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Umstattd
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
All Hail Lelouch
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Don't feel bad. The combat system in this game is quite different than many other combat systems. It's one reason I think a few people don't like it.

I love it though.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.