Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Fabled Fruit» Forums » Rules

Subject: Location #19: Send the thief away, take 2 market fruits rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Anton Elizarov
Russia
St. Petersburg
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The full description of the location is: If the thief stands on a location or next to any player, remove the thief token from play. Then, take up to 2 market fruits into your hand.

The first condition is clear -- the thief has to be on the same location as another character. But the question is: what does ...next to any player mean?

An amazing game, by the way! thumbsup
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Friedemann Friese
Germany
Bremen
Bremen
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
with location #26 it happens that the thief is next to any player...
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henning Kröpke
Germany
Ascheberg
Germany
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Clarification for the first post.

"If the thief stands on a location.." only means, that the thief is on a location card. There is no need for another character on the same location.

"... or next to any player". As Friedemann already answered, location #26 offers the action to move the thief in front of a player (NOT to that player's character).

Have fun with Fabled Fruit!
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryxius Ryxius
msg tools
Henning wrote:
in front of a player (NOT to that player's character).


What is the difference ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henning Kröpke
Germany
Ascheberg
Germany
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The player's character (meeple) moves around the locations.

Later in the game, there is a location where the thief joins a player's character.

For location #26 it is much easier to see, who controls the thief, if it is placed next to the player.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryxius Ryxius
msg tools
Oh sh** i missed it.
Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Waterman
United States
Commerce Township
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If someone lands on Location 19 they "remove the thief token from play".

**After** someone does this, what happens if another player lands on card 16?

A) They bring the thief token back into play or
B) Sorry, the thief token is not available for the rest of that game session?

(If B is correct, which it seems to be, it seems like there are a lot of cards that will get hampered by that! Locations 19, 21 and 26 at least become useless!)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henning Kröpke
Germany
Ascheberg
Germany
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The answer is A) - they bring the thief token back into play.

Henning
(2F-Spiele)
3 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Waterman
United States
Commerce Township
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
EXCELLENT! Woo Hoo! - that'll make things a lot more back and forth. Amusing. Thanks, Henning!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Wilting
Netherlands
Vught
flag msg tools
holdtight wrote:
The full description of the location is: If the thief stands on a location or next to any player, remove the thief token from play. Then, take up to 2 market fruits into your hand.

The first condition is clear -- the thief has to be on the same location as another character. But the question is: what does ...next to any player mean?

An amazing game, by the way! thumbsup

To me, the bold part of the description was confusing as well. However, if I would have known the description from the English version, as this thread is about, then it wouldn't have been necessary to clarify the card's text. For me, the cause of the confusion seems to be the lingual conversion to Dutch.

To be clear, the Dutch version of the bold text in the quote reads: "...neem de dief uit het spel.", which litterly means "...remove the thief from the game." (instead of "out of play"). Unfortunately, the Dutch language allows both "out of play" and "from the game" to be translated as "uit het spel", which makes a text like this easy to misunderstand.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.