$30.00
Frank Fish
United States
chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello all, I started playing 40k under the first edition rule-set and continued on throughout the majority of later revisions. I would like to get back into the game, having battles in the original heresy era (30k), and utilize my old large/painted armies. Anyone here tried the Forge World Horus Heresy rules and have any input? I still have all my old rules, and White Dwarves. I am wondering if revisiting the original Rogue Trader rules would scratch the same itch.

I already have the 7th edition rules, so there would be no additional cost in that regard.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Outlaw
United Kingdom
Devizes
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
The Wing Warrior - learn more at www.facebook.com/thelegendriders
mbmbmbmbmb
I used to play Fantasy Battle, but never tried 40K and have no knowledge at all of 30K, so I can't shed any light. I think your best bet might be to ask around on somewhere like DakkaDakka. I tend to avoid the place, but I get the impression there are some very knowledgeable dudes hanging around over there.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Tonino
msg tools
From what I know it's mostly the fact that the forces have quite a bit of symmetry at their core what makes the game more balanced. 40k has bigger extremes, where things can go wrong more easily (uberranged Tau, ubersurviving Necrons, ubercheating Eldar, etc). And no super-flexible-crazy-if-you-dont-take-them grav-weapons for marines, hooray.

But I'm sure it has it's own problems. Every ruleset that keeps growing start running into balance issues sooner or later.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Fish
United States
chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb