GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
20 Days Left
One of the Cathedral cards hits players with a 5 victory point reduction if they can't fulfill the requirement. If the player gets hit with this, can they go below 0 victory points?
This is a tricky one because there isn't much consistency in the rulebook for wording of this sort of thing.
In the Chronicle, Those two tiles say "Give up 2 Action tiles" and "Pay a tax of 2 coins". Both of these tiles give the player the option to voluntarily "lose 5 victory points".
Since we start the game with 5 VP, one could argue that Victory Points are a resource just like coins, tiles and sparrows.
In this case, if a player doesn't have 5 VP to lose, then they must pay the other type of good, either tiles or coins.