$5.00
$20.00
$15.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Fury of Dracula (third edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Aristocratic Vampire and Bats in Hideout rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tim Loomis
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We ran into a situation recently and, after consulting all the rules we were still not clear on how to handle it. We may have missed something, but here is how we played it and I'd appreciate any additional corrections or validation.

At night Mina searched in a city with two encounter cards, an Aristocratic Vampire and Bats. Not entirely sure about this, but we played that both Encounter cards are simultaneously revealed and Dracula chooses which order they take effect.

Dracula chose the Bats first, but the text on this encounter seems like it doesn't take affect until the hunter's next turn, so we continued to the vampire. Mina chose to become delayed to successfully defeat the Aristocratic Vampire.

The effect of the Bats is to move the hunter to an adjacent city on her next turn and cause her to be delayed. Mina's next turn was during the day and Dracula moved her to another city (another possible interpretation might have been that Mina becomes "undelayed" with this day action and then the Bats would take affect on the next turn at night).

After moving the delayed Mina to a new city, there was discussion whether Mina should become "double delayed" and wait for two turns before taking a productive action. Since there was nothing in the rules about multiple delays, we decided that Mina would be delayed for just one turn, which diminished the effect of the Bats.

Do you believe we played anything incorrectly?

Thanks,

Tim
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Merritt
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
tloomis wrote:
We ran into a situation recently and, after consulting all the rules we were still not clear on how to handle it. We may have missed something, but here is how we played it and I'd appreciate any additional corrections or validation.

At night Mina searched in a city with two encounter cards, an Aristocratic Vampire and Bats. Not entirely sure about this, but we played that both Encounter cards are simultaneously revealed and Dracula chooses which order they take effect.

Dracula chose the Bats first, but the text on this encounter seems like it doesn't take affect until the hunter's next turn, so we continued to the vampire. Mina chose to become delayed to successfully defeat the Aristocratic Vampire.

The effect of the Bats is to move the hunter to an adjacent city on her next turn and cause her to be delayed. Mina's next turn was during the day and Dracula moved her to another city (another possible interpretation might have been that Mina becomes "undelayed" with this day action and then the Bats would take affect on the next turn at night).

After moving the delayed Mina to a new city, there was discussion whether Mina should become "double delayed" and wait for two turns before taking a productive action. Since there was nothing in the rules about multiple delays, we decided that Mina would be delayed for just one turn, which diminished the effect of the Bats.

Do you believe we played anything incorrectly?

Thanks,

Tim


If the Hunter Searches, the Hunter chooses the order in which Encounters are resolved. If Dracula ambushes with multiple cards, only then can he choose the order. So that right there was played incorrectly.

Per RR pg.13 Search:
Quote:
When a hunter performs a search action, Dracula must reveal
any encounter cards that are not already revealed from the
hideout or lair the hunter currently occupies. Then, he resolves
the text on that encounter card, ignoring any matured effect, in
the order of the hunter’s choice
.


However, assuming Mina had chosen to resolve Bats first, then the vampire, she would have a Bats token placed under her, then become delayed to resolve the vampire encounter. On her day action, she would become undelayed, then on her night action Dracula would move her to an adjacent city and she would become delayed again, after which the Bats token would be removed.

Per the RR pg.4 Bats Token:
Quote:
If a hunter has a bats token underneath his figure and he is
delayed, that hunter stands his figure upright during his next
action as normal. Then, Dracula moves the hunter to an
adjacent city during the hunter’s next action after he is no
longer delayed.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Loomis
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for clearing up everything!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.