6 Posts

Codex: Card-Time Strategy – Deluxe Set» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Turn one, you go first, what do you tech? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex Krasny
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I am curious what everyone puts in first assuming they are going first. Certainly many things are going to be matchup dependent, go ahead and talk about that. Also of course talk about the color(s) you are playing.

I have mostly been playing Mono-black, and I recently made a post about my Bone collector rush, so I have been teching in 2x bone collectors. He is a solid creature that doesn't really ever become bad.

When I am white, I almost always tech ng 1 copy of Rook's bird nest spell and Ardra's boulder. But I am pretty new to white still so I don't really have a strategy.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian K
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I usually take the baddest looking tech one card
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Churchill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambs
flag msg tools
designer
"If we knew what we were building, it wouldn't be called research!"
badge
Sufficiently advanced mathematics is indistinguishable from magic
mbmbmbmbmb
As you say, a lot of it depends on the matchup; and indeed what you know about your opponent's preferences and play style. But without any knowledge of that, just on general principles:

Red:

Lobber, Gunpoint Taxman, or a mixture is standard and powerful. You can go very cheap aggro with Lobbers and Crash Bombers, or more controlling with Ember Sparks. Surprise Attack is a fantastic spell, but I think turn 1 might be a bit early?

Green:

2x Tiny Basilisk or 1x Tiny Basilisk 1x Centaur is pretty standard. I personally like Galina Glimmer + Giant Panda for the token-spam angle (or even Galina Glimmer + Murkwood Allies).

Black:

2x Bone Collector is a very solid opening. Or Gargoyles, Plague Spitters, or some mixture.