$30.00
$20.00
$5.00
$15.00
Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
18 Posts

A Feast for Odin» Forums » Rules

Subject: Pea Flour Baker Card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Allen Cordell
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In the appendix it states: In the Feast phase (phase 9) of each round, you can place up to 2 peas horizontally on two (adjacent) spaces of the “Banquet Table” track. (Each peas you place after your second must be placed “inefficiently”, i.e., vertically.

My question is, why in the illustration on the card (186A) does it show the two pea tiles as having a space between them even though the description says you can lay them adjacent to each other?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
GAF Blizzard
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Good question, since I think that would be the only occupation that would allow you to break the adjacent tiles rule.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Cordell
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
GAFBlizzard wrote:
Good question, since I think that would be the only occupation that would allow you to break the adjacent tiles rule.


AND the multiple horizontal tiles of the same type rule.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Cordell
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This lack of clarification is a real mother-scratcher.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonas Vanschooren
Belgium
Beringen
Limburg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Apparently this cards allows to break 2 rules.
The 2 horizontal pea tiles seem to pretty clear.
And since adjacent is between ( ) I would think this allows to put them adjacent but doesn't force you to. So giving more options.

Pretty powerful card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Cordell
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Spukky wrote:
Apparently this cards allows to break 2 rules.
The 2 horizontal pea tiles seem to pretty clear.
And since adjacent is between ( ) I would think this allows to put them adjacent but doesn't force you to. So giving more options.

Pretty powerful card.


Cool. Yeah, after much deliberation and head scratching I believe that's what it allows as well.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonas Vanschooren
Belgium
Beringen
Limburg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
And looked the card up in the Dutch rulebook to see if the wording there suggests something different but it doesn't.
Perfect translation of the English rule in OP.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Cordell
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Spukky wrote:
And looked the card up in the Dutch rulebook to see if the wording there suggests something different but it doesn't.
Perfect translation of the English rule in OP.


Interesting...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonas Vanschooren
Belgium
Beringen
Limburg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Update, after seeing the card itself I'm in doubt again.
That really implies that it's not allowed to place adjacent.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob van Dalen
Netherlands
Nijmegen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The German appendix mentions "benachbarte Felder", this would translate to 'adjacent / neighbouring spaces'.

Really confusing...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dirk Vahlenkamp
Germany
Huerth
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The full text in the original german appendix is:
"Während der Phasen Festmahl kannst du mit bis zu 2 Erbsen je zwei (benachbarte) Felder auf der Festtafel belegen." (bold mine)

Translates to:
"During the phases feast, you can place up to 2 peas each covering 2 (adjacent) spaces on the feast-table." (bold missing in english translation!)

So it does not break the rule to place yellow tile adjacent to each other.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Cordell
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Spukky wrote:
Update, after seeing the card itself I'm in doubt again.
That really implies that it's not allowed to place adjacent.


And yet the word adjacent is in there...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant
United States
Cuyahoga Falls
Ohio
flag msg tools
One of the best gaming weekends in Ohio since 2010. Search facebook for "BOGA Weekend Retreat" for more info!
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
alphasixty wrote:
Spukky wrote:
Update, after seeing the card itself I'm in doubt again.
That really implies that it's not allowed to place adjacent.


And yet the word adjacent is in there...

No, it's saying that each tile covers two adjacent spaces. Not that the tiles are placed adjacent to each other. It's basically reiterating that both can be placed horizontally, contrary to the standard rule.
2 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Cordell
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can Frank Heeren or Uwe please give us a definitive answer on the matter?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Cordell
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
grant5 wrote:
alphasixty wrote:
Spukky wrote:
Update, after seeing the card itself I'm in doubt again.
That really implies that it's not allowed to place adjacent.


And yet the word adjacent is in there...

No, it's saying that each tile covers two adjacent spaces. Not that the tiles are placed adjacent to each other. It's basically reiterating that both can be placed horizontally, contrary to the standard rule.


Wow, that makes sense, and yet what a convoluted, counterintuitive way of saying it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant
United States
Cuyahoga Falls
Ohio
flag msg tools
One of the best gaming weekends in Ohio since 2010. Search facebook for "BOGA Weekend Retreat" for more info!
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
alphasixty wrote:
grant5 wrote:
alphasixty wrote:
Spukky wrote:
Update, after seeing the card itself I'm in doubt again.
That really implies that it's not allowed to place adjacent.


And yet the word adjacent is in there...

No, it's saying that each tile covers two adjacent spaces. Not that the tiles are placed adjacent to each other. It's basically reiterating that both can be placed horizontally, contrary to the standard rule.


Wow, that makes sense, and yet what a convoluted, counterintuitive way of saying it.

Agreed. It didn't make sense to me until Dirk translated the German version above. The German version is much more clear.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
GAF Blizzard
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I don't know if Uwe posts much, but Frank is around pretty often to clarify rules. I'll try to remember to PM him in a day or so if he doesn't beat me to it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Heeren
Germany
Eppstein-Bremthal
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
alphasixty wrote:
In the appendix it states: In the Feast phase (phase 9) of each round, you can place up to 2 peas horizontally on two (adjacent) spaces of the “Banquet Table” track. (Each peas you place after your second must be placed “inefficiently”, i.e., vertically.

My question is, why in the illustration on the card (186A) does it show the two pea tiles as having a space between them even though the description says you can lay them adjacent to each other?

The two peas may NOT touch each other. The wording in the appendix could be better. The word "(adjacent)" in this context refers to the two spaces of a SINGLE pea.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.