GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,283 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
20 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Hit Z Road» Forums » Rules

Subject: Another fleeing question. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
When fleeing does this option come into effect only before the Melee phase begins? Or before each roll of the Melee round? The rules state before each Melee round but doesn't clearify what is considered a round.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Feras H
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It will be before the melee phase starts (after the ranged roll)
- You cannot escape while your in a fight, they will eat you
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lochi Lochi
Spain
Madrid
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
feraswheel wrote:
It will be before the melee phase starts (after the ranged roll)
- You cannot escape while your in a fight, they will eat you


Is that so?

When reading "Before any melee round, a player may flee to skip the fight altogether" (rulebook, p. 8) I've always understood "any melee round" as before doing a melee roll as I don't see any need to write that sentence in case it's only before starting melee combat.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benji
Switzerland
Gurmels
FR
flag msg tools
visit us on www.muwins.ch
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
feraswheel wrote:
It will be before the melee phase starts (after the ranged roll)
- You cannot escape while your in a fight, they will eat you


The german rules also make it clear that you may flee before any melee round to avoid continuing the fight (so you may flee at any moment).
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin S
United Kingdom
Bedfordshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Otherwise the card would presumably read "before the melee round(s)".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Andrews
United States
Aliso Viejo
California
flag msg tools
mbmb
So just to clarify, the steps of a fight are:

1) Ranged option
2) Flee option
3) Melee

This was how I read it naturally and it made sense and adds a nice choice that lets you see if you can clear a crowd from afar before you make the decision to go into melee.

But watching videos it wasn't clear, plus Tom V's video said FLeeing was first.

Thanks for the post about the German rules.

The rules are a bit 'easy-going' sometimes and you can see by the below that the above question can certainly come up. Fight vs Round vs Melee round vs first roll of the Fight - ugh!:

Fight - you must defeat all zombies
Each Fight can have 1 Ranged Roll which must occur as the FIRST ROLL OF THE FIGHT.

Flee: Before any MELEE ROUND you may Flee

Game Length is played over 8 ROUNDS
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dirk stouten
msg tools
Avatar
DougA wrote:
So just to clarify, the steps of a fight are:

1) Ranged option
2) Flee option
3) Melee

This was how I read it naturally and it made sense and adds a nice choice that lets you see if you can clear a crowd from afar before you make the decision to go into melee.

But watching videos it wasn't clear, plus Tom V's video said FLeeing was first.


Since you can skip 'ranged option' and then flee before the melee, you can avoid a complete fight, if you pay 2 gas tokens. Am I right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin S
United Kingdom
Bedfordshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
manducator wrote:
DougA wrote:
So just to clarify, the steps of a fight are:

1) Ranged option
2) Flee option
3) Melee

This was how I read it naturally and it made sense and adds a nice choice that lets you see if you can clear a crowd from afar before you make the decision to go into melee.

But watching videos it wasn't clear, plus Tom V's video said FLeeing was first.


Since you can skip 'ranged option' and then flee before the melee, you can avoid a complete fight, if you pay 2 gas tokens. Am I right?


Yes, I would agree
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.