Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Squad Leader» Forums » Rules

Subject: DRM for forest road hex. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
T. Dauphin
Canada
Belleville
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar

We're in the thick of one and came up with this situation.
A squad enters a forest road from the forest and is attacked by a squad on the road. No LOS issues, no greenery in the way.
Jamie did the research and found the Q&A for 81.2 and 81.22, which declare (respectively) that infantry on an AFV get +1 for the woods, and that moving infantry only suffer the -2 for moving in the open if using the road movement rate.
The rules declare that forest roads are forests in all respects (except for a few itemized issues).
This statement alone makes me think this is pretty clear and that such fire would be subject to the +1 for woods.
It's one of those times when it doesn't feel quite right. (They're in the 'open'--sort of. Aren't they?) and I want to check with the community. Would this shot call for no mods or the +1?

These are the pertinant rules;
COI Rules wrote:

81.2 A forest road hex is considered a woods hex in every
respect except as amended below:
81.21 Movement into a forest-road hex is done at the
woods movement rate except when the movement is made
via a road hexside.
81.22 Fire may be traced through a forest-road hex only if
unobstructed by green woods symbols or if the firer is
higher than the woods and not firing into a blind hex (and
vice versa) or if the target is adjacent to the firer.

Q&A
81.2 If passengers on AFVs in a forest-road hex are fired
upon, do they receive the +1 DRM for the woods in
addition to the cover afforded by the AFV ?
A. Yes, even if the LOS does not cross a green woods
symbol. {COI4-70}
81.22 Would a unit moving in a forest-road hex be subject
to the -2 DRM for moving in the open ?
A. Only if the LOS is free of green woods symbols and the
target has moved into the hex utilizing the road movement
rate. {COI4-70}


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Pavitt
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I try to avoid squad leader in all its incarnations, but IIRC, if the los between the centre dots doesn't cross the woods it would be movement in the open.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott B
msg tools
mb
It is treated as a woods hex unless a specific exception applies. In your case, if Jamie declared 2MF for woods, the TEM is +1 and if he declared 1MF for the road, the TEM is -1 (-2 MIO and +1 Forest-road).

Terrain is still cumulative (11.1) as Q&A 81.2 shows. Its just like a shell-hole, wall, hedge, AFV, or smoke in that respect.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.