$15.00
$20.00
$5.00
$30.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Codex: Card-Time Strategy – Deluxe Set» Forums » Rules

Subject: Assimilate when trashed, with legendary rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Vash TheStampede
Saudi Arabia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb

Questions about how this card work
http://codexcarddb.com/card/assimilate


When you play it and aquire a building.
Does the building card come to your side of the board or stay with the owner?

Do you discard Assimilate after playing it and must somehow track what you are controlling. If you keep it, where do you put it?

If you assimilate a building then the opponent uses Nature Reclaim
http://codexcarddb.com/card/nature_reclaims
What happens when he targets the stolen building
What happen when he target assimilate


Finally can you assimilate two of the same legenday building
Can you build your own legenday building then aquire anothe one of the same legendary building from oppponent with assimilate?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rabid Schnauzer
msg tools
MVashM wrote:

Questions about how this card work
http://codexcarddb.com/card/assimilate


When you play it and aquire a building.
Does the building card come to your side of the board or stay with the owner?


You gain control of the building, so you get whatever benefits the building has, the building will be defended by your patrollers and your opponent(s) can now attack it when they can get by your patrollers -- even if one of those opponents was the building's prior controller.

And I think most players would choose to indicate that by moving the building to their side of the board.

Quote:
Do you discard Assimilate after playing it and must somehow track what you are controlling. If you keep it, where do you put it?


It's a spell which is not ongoing, so as per the general rules on spells (rulebook page 3) it goes immediately to the discard once it finishes resolving.

It is even possible to draw enough cards to reshuffle, redraw and cast a single Assimilate in your deck twice during one of your main phases (although doing so will require playing drawing effect such as Research and Development or Temporal Research).


Quote:
If you assimilate a building then the opponent uses Nature Reclaim
http://codexcarddb.com/card/nature_reclaims
What happens when he targets the stolen building
What happen when he target assimilate


The same thing that happens when any building card is targeted by Nature Reclaims - both Nature Reclaims and the building are trashed -- and "trashed" is a game term which that means "removed from the game". (Rulebook index page 20)

Assimilate is not ongoing, so it never stays in play and cannot be targeted by anything. (Although it can be prevented by killing Vir or by Truth playing Free Speech)

Quote:
Finally can you assimilate two of the same legenday building
Can you build your own legenday building then aquire anothe one of the same legendary building from oppponent with assimilate?


You can *target* a second copy of a Legendary building that you already have in play with your Assimilate. HOWEVER, page 17 of the rulebook is quite clear that if a 2nd copy of the same Legendary card would "come under your control" then the 2nd copy is Trashed. So in this case, your opponent's Legendary building gets removed from the game.

Edit: Sirlin is correct, the final print version of the rulebook does say that duplicate Legendary things are only discarded. I was citing a version from late in the Kickstarter campaign.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Sirlin
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Page 17 of the rulebook says that if a 2nd copy of a certain legendary would come under your control, instead it's DISCARDED (not trashed). It was trashed in an earlier beta version of the game, but in the shipping version the card goes to its owner's discard pile.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.