$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

SeaFall» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ships sailing together or separate (NO SPOILERS) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Brown
United States
Fort Wayne
Indiana
flag msg tools
There is no reason to have two A's at the beginning of aardvark. I simply won't do it.
mbmbmbmbmb
In the rules it makes a big deal about ships being able to sail together then one with more movement can continue on. This confused me just a bit.

For both ships to sail do they have to sail together? If not, what's the point of calling this out so much?

Can ships move separately?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes they can sail separately. The large one starts with a move of 2 and the small one has a move of 3. SO if you choose to sail then together, the small one can move 1 additional space if desired.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
robert green
msg tools
There is a reason for moving together that will come up at a later point. Until that point, there is no actual benefit for moving them together. Feel free to move your ships separately.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Neville
United States
Nevada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Well, there IS one advantage to having your ships together. The ship that is not the flagship in an endeavor adds an extra die as a support ship if they are in the same hex.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Wenadin01 wrote:
Well, there IS one advantage to having your ships together. The ship that is not the flagship in an endeavor adds an extra die as a support ship if they are in the same hex.


That doesn't have anything to do with moving together. It's the same if they move together from one space to another, or if they move separately each ending in the same space.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DaviddesJ wrote:
Wenadin01 wrote:
Well, there IS one advantage to having your ships together. The ship that is not the flagship in an endeavor adds an extra die as a support ship if they are in the same hex.

That doesn't have anything to do with moving together. It's the same if they move together from one space to another, or if they move separately each ending in the same space.

This is not always true. The mildest spoiler example I can think of:
(Box 1 spoiler)
Spoiler (click to reveal)
If you move through (or to) dangerous waters, you interrupt your move to make a sail "endeavor". Having a support ship along for the ride is potentially useful -- but only works if the ships were moving together, as the test would be resolved before sailing with your other ship.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Of course there are reasons LATER IN THE GAME why moving your ships together is different from moving them separately. That's why it's explicitly stated as an option in the rules. It's also already been stated above.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.