Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Wellman
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm new to 18XX (5 games in). I picked up a dusty copy 1860 I recently found in a Toronto games store.

I haven't gotten it played yet, but am wondering how important would it be to grab the 1860 expansion while it's available?

I'm thinking of folks similar to Clearclaw who count 1860 among the best 18XX: is the expansion a factor in your (high) rating of 1860?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tyler McLaughlin
Canada
Medicine Hat
Alberta
flag msg tools
Talk
badge
Words
mbmbmbmbmb
I bet JC hasn't even played with it yet.

It's by no means essential for play, but it adds good variety to the game once you've played it 50 or 60 times. If you can get a copy before they become harder to find, you may want to secure it for the future, but honestly you have plenty of game there without it.

Edit for phone typing..
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Denison
United States
Ames
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It has already become super hard to find . I would say it is not critical to the experience though. I have only played it a couple times but it is really fun without it.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Logan
United States
Havertown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
My words literally betray me.
mbmbmbmbmb
eva01iastate wrote:
It has already become super hard to find . I would say it is not critical to the experience though. I have only played it a couple times but it is really fun without it.

is it hard to find? I just got mine not too long ago through direct order by GMing Mike Hutton.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
blu_in_green wrote:
I haven't gotten it played yet, but am wondering how important would it be to grab the 1860 expansion while it's available?