Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark» Forums » Rules

Subject: Large Monster movement around corners rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
duhtch
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
In a PBF game I'm playing in there is a situation where there is a Naga @FG7/8.

The posted move is north to EF7/8, then northwest to DE6/7.

Is this a legal move?



Let's take this map and pretend the block @C9 is gone. The Naga cannot move N, NE, NE to CD9/10 because on the second move it couldn't go through D8.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Munch
Denmark
HĂžjbjerg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No. Part of it would slide out of the map when it moves north-west, which is not allowed. It is specifically written in the rulebook.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luke Butler
Canada
Newfoundland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Other large monsters occupy four spaces. When moving,
these figures move like regular figures, and must
always occupy four existing spaces
, as shown in the diagram
on page 17.


Despite this statement in the rulebook, I think I would allow that move. I guess it's up for interpretation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Tuijp
Netherlands
Volendam
Noord-Holland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

In our games that would certainly be a legal move.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
duhtch
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Xavarir wrote:
Other large monsters occupy four spaces. When moving,
these figures move like regular figures, and must
always occupy four existing spaces
, as shown in the diagram
on page 17.


Despite this statement in the rulebook, I think I would allow that move. I guess it's up for interpretation.


So in my first example, it occupies 4 spaces every move.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lanabound
Canada
flag msg tools
I think it's a legal move! If you view each of the four squares as four single-square monsters, they could individually make those moves.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.