Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Harry Potter: Hogwarts Battle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Voldemort Alternate Rule Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Castagnetto
United States
Santa Clara
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the rules for book 7 it states that for a harder game you can play with all 3 forms of Voldemort face up in order.

So how does this work exactly?

If there are 3 other villains face up and Voldemort is face up on the top of the villain deck you are fighting the 3 with the effect of Voldemort. No problem.

Now you defeat one of the villains and Voldemort moves to the open space. Now there are 2 voldemorts out, they both trigger effects and you cant beat them till the other 2 are defeated.

You then defeat the next villain and the 2nd Voldemort moves down and the 3rd is revealded. All 3 abilities are triggered but you still cant deal damage till the 4th villan is defeated.

Now you defeat the 3rd and final normal villain and Voldemort 3 moves down. Who can you damage? they all say no damage till other villians are defeated etc etc.

Do you have to beat Voldemort 1 first then 2 then 3 or can you choose how to do damage among the 3?

Or am I way off on this and you can do damage to Voldemort 1 and 2 even if other villains are out but just not to Voldemort 3?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Edens
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
I assumed it was Voldemort always stays up at the deck area until all other villains are dead. Then he drops down to where you can assign him damage. When you do that you reveal the next Voldemort and deal with his text but can't hit him until first Voldemort is dead.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Wolf
United States
Carlsbad
Unspecified
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmb
moggle wrote:
In the rules for book 7 it states that for a harder game you can play with all 3 forms of Voldemort face up in order.

So how does this work exactly?

If there are 3 other villains face up and Voldemort is face up on the top of the villain deck you are fighting the 3 with the effect of Voldemort. No problem.

Now you defeat one of the villains and Voldemort moves to the open space. Now there are 2 voldemorts out, they both trigger effects and you cant beat them till the other 2 are defeated.

You then defeat the next villain and the 2nd Voldemort moves down and the 3rd is revealded. All 3 abilities are triggered but you still cant deal damage till the 4th villan is defeated.

Now you defeat the 3rd and final normal villain and Voldemort 3 moves down. Who can you damage? they all say no damage till other villians are defeated etc etc.

Do you have to beat Voldemort 1 first then 2 then 3 or can you choose how to do damage among the 3?

Or am I way off on this and you can do damage to Voldemort 1 and 2 even if other villains are out but just not to Voldemort 3?

Thanks


If you are playing with all 3 Voldemorts, you just keep the topmost one in its space when revealed. It does not drop down into one of the Villain spaces when one of the final three Villains is defeated. So effectively, you have to defeat the final three Villains, then just the Game 5 Voldemort, then the Game 6 one, and finally the Game 7 one.

We did not test a version where Voldemort drops down when one of the final three Villains is defeated, thus revealing the next one, but I could see that as an even MORE challenging game with multiple Voldemort effects triggering each turn. In that case, I would say you can still only assign ATTACK to the Game 5 Voldemort first (once able) and have to defeat that version before moving on to the Game 6 and Game 7 versions. Good luck!

Andrew Wolf
Game Designer - USAopoly
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Castagnetto
United States
Santa Clara
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sweet thanks for the clarification. Now time to try super hard mode

We like challenges in our play group
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Castagnetto
United States
Santa Clara
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tried this last night and won with the extra 2 darkness at start and 1 extra darkness every location. It was rough at parts but we cleared it Super Extreme hard mode
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Ignatoski
United States
Rockford
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That's impressive. How many characters were you playing with and which proficiency cards did you use?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Blake Curry
United States
Kansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ignatosr wrote:
That's impressive. How many characters were you playing with and which proficiency cards did you use?


I don't know but if Hermione gets her hand on the Elder Wand and she has Transfiguration to trash some nonsense card to search her deck for another spall that lets you draw extra cards on top of it, Voldy will be moldy before you know it.

We did the regular "hard version" the other day and Hermione ended up getting like 17 attack in a single turn and just obliterated all three remaining villains to start the main boss fight because of massive card drawing and just really maxing out spells with that wand.

And once all the other villains are dead, beating Voldemort just wasn't so bad anymore.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.