$35.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Last Blitzkrieg» Forums » Rules

Subject: Effect of AV ZoC's clarification requested rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nayan Sharma
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb

A bit of clarification please for...

6.0i Stopping Engagements.

Any stack containing one or more AV units must STOP and then conduct at least one Engagement upon entering a Real AV EZOC hex. There is no requirement to conduct a Stopping Engagement if the hex contains
only Support AV EZOCs or upon any Advance after Combat. However, the STOP still applies for either Support or Real AV EZOCs.

The STOP requirement for the AV EZOC is waived if all the units providing the AV EZOCs in the hex are eliminated by

a) destroying the providing unit
b) causing the providing unit to Retreat
c) Dropping Support, as applicable.

If, however, the moving stack fails to do this in a Real AV EZOC, the STOP converts into a Finished.


1. If a Real AV moves in to the Real AV ZoC of an enemy unit and conducts ONE engagement - which is compulsory - can it then move out of the hex (assuming next hex is legal) or must it force the enemy unit to retreat/eliminate it before moving again?

2. If a Real AV moves in to the Support AV ZoC of an enemy unit (support or real) can it then move out of the hex (assuming next hex is legal) or must it force the enemy unit to retreat/eliminate it before moving again?

3. If two units want to attack a unit with a AV ZoC (support or red) would they both have to move together because by moving one into the AV ZoC and then moving another, the first would become finished for not fulfilling the STOP requirement?

4. Is it legal for non AV units (with or without support) with an assault arrow to attack Real AV units?

I think I know the answer to these questions but am suffering from AP/rules blindness...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dean Essig
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
Jimmy Cricket wrote:

A bit of clarification please for...

1. If a Real AV moves in to the Real AV ZoC of an enemy unit and conducts ONE engagement - which is compulsory - can it then move out of the hex (assuming next hex is legal) or must it force the enemy unit to retreat/eliminate it before moving again?


It must force them to retreat or destroy them... in effect 'winning' the engagement... to be able to void out the STOP they inflicted by being there.

Jimmy Cricket wrote:

2. If a Real AV moves in to the Support AV ZoC of an enemy unit (support or real) can it then move out of the hex (assuming next hex is legal) or must it force the enemy unit to retreat/eliminate it before moving again?


It must drop the Support to be able to keep moving, the difference here is that it can enter the hex, Stop, and just not shoot at all if the player wants. There is no conversion to Finished in this case.

Jimmy Cricket wrote:

3. If two units want to attack a unit with a AV ZoC (support or red) would they both have to move together because by moving one into the AV ZoC and then moving another, the first would become finished for not fulfilling the STOP requirement?


That's right. Usually, it is best to go in one at a time, so you can gauge what happens without committing both AV units, but situation dictates.

Jimmy Cricket wrote:

4. Is it legal for non AV units (with or without support) with an assault arrow to attack Real AV units?


Certainly. Attacking tanks in terrain with infantry can be very productive!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim F
United Kingdom
Birmingham
West Midlands
flag msg tools
Where the heck did this interest in WW1 come from?
badge
Ashwin in thoughtful mood
mb

That ability to idle the engine in a support AV ZoC is quite an important subtle difference.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.