Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Engaged with multiple monsters rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mustafa Ünlü
United States
Takoma Park
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb

If an investigator is engaged with multiple monsters, and wishes to evade or fight one of them, the other monster(s) will not get attack(s) of opprotunity, correct?

If the answer is yes, then it seems mighty sporting of the monsters to take turns like that. But then again, the game probably does not need to be any harder.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Martin
msg tools
mb
Attacks of opportunity only take place if you do anything other than fight, evade, parley or resign.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard A. Edwards
United States
Lacey
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
camustafa wrote:
If an investigator is engaged with multiple monsters, and wishes to evade or fight one of them, the other monster(s) will not get attack(s) of opprotunity, correct?

Yes.

Rules Reference page 5: "Each time an investigator is engaged with one or more ready enemies and takes an action other than to fight, to evade, or
to activate a parley or resign ability, each of those enemies makes an attack of opportunity against the investigator, in the order of the investigator’s choosing. Each attack deals that enemy’s damage and horror to the investigator."

camustafa wrote:
If the answer is yes, then it seems mighty sporting of the monsters to take turns like that. But then again, the game probably does not need to be any harder.

Think of it as your investigator is actively fighting or evading but concentrating on one of them. So they're all held at bay by his fighting or by sneaking/dodging while one of them is his target to attack or to confuse.

And of course if you Parley or Resign, that affects them and the entire game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Farquhar
Australia
North Melbourne
VIC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
camustafa wrote:

If an investigator is engaged with multiple monsters, and wishes to evade or fight one of them, the other monster(s) will not get attack(s) of opprotunity, correct?

If the answer is yes, then it seems mighty sporting of the monsters to take turns like that. But then again, the game probably does not need to be any harder.


Also, although the other monsters won't get attacks of opportunity, they are also not evaded. So when it come to the monster phase, they will each attack unless they have also each been individually evaded.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.