Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Among Nobles» Forums » Rules

Subject: birth action rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ottevaere Wouter
Belgium
Vosselaar
Antwerpen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
After playing a first session, we had a question about the birth action.

Most of the actions you choose on a character or on a married couple don't have impact on the character or on the married couple itself, where you picked this action:
- piety (blue): receive a prestige point;
- commerce (yellow): receive a coin of money;
- marriage (purple): choose any unmarried male character in your family tree to marry (with a female character offered by another player);
- warfare (red): place an army on a province (at the cost of one coin) or move an army from a province to another province (for free);
- hire (grey): choose a 'marriage', 'piety' or 'warfare' action (at the cost of two coins)

The intrige (green) action has sometimes an impact on the character itself, but mostly on the gameplay (giving a benefit to yourself - like Henry VIII - or disadvantaging another player - like Duke of Wellington).

Only the birth actions (a mandatory male, a mandatory female or the choice between male or female) aren't clear to us.
In the rulebook it states that all the other actions may be skipped by choice (because you don't want to perform the action) or skipped due to the situation (because you can't perform the action, for exemple: you don't have the money to pay for a marriage or a hire action). Only the birth actions are mandatory: you have to take a new male or female character from the display - you can't skip this birth action.
The only ways you don't have to get a child, is:
- when there is no child (empty display);
- when there are only children available of the wrong trait (you have a blue-red couple and there are only green and yellow children available);
- when you have to take a specific gender and there is no child of that gender.

Now, after a long rule explanation, here you have the specific question: can you perform a birth action from a married couple, but letting another married couple receiving the child?
Exemple: you take a birth action from ancestral couple Charlemagne & Hildegard of France, but giving the child to their married son Christian II al Danmark (married to Sibylle of Cleves).
If this is possible (child doesn't have to become a son or daughter of the couple where the action came from), then is it also possible to take a birth action from a unmarried daughter (= single female character in your family tree) and choosing any couple in your family tree to get the child?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nico W.
Belgium
Leuven
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

The answer is; NO. In the rule is stated to place the card (child) below the couple, not below a couple.

No unmarried daughter can have children, except for Henriette Marie de France (special trait).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Troels Vastrup
Denmark
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmb
Nico is correct

Kind regards
Troels Vastrup
Among Meeeples
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ottevaere Wouter
Belgium
Vosselaar
Antwerpen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Troels_vastrup wrote:
Nico is correct

Kind regards
Troels Vastrup
Among Meeeples


That's what I was thinking too, so thanks for the rules explanation Nico and thanks for confirming that Troels!

Now I can linger among nobles in a correct manner!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.