$5.00
$15.00
$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

A Feast for Odin» Forums » Rules

Subject: Newfoundland rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tom McGreevy
United States
Naples
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Excuse an old guy with bad eyesight but what is the good on the bottom left of Newfoundland? It looks like the gray staff or the blue silk. Iam leaning towards the gray staff but it would be gone by the time Newfoundland flips.
Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This is from the Appendix:

Newfoundland: Assuming nobody explores Greenland (on the
other side of the board), you can explore Newfoundland from
the last two rounds. Newfoundland features many valuable
Bonus that you can only receive in the second to last round (due
to the fact that the game ends before the Bonus phase of the last
round). The Cloakpin and stone house Bonus are only available
once and three times, respectively. If they are gone already by
the time the Bonus phase is played, you do not receive those
bonuses. Its positive point value of 38 is countered by 40
negative points on its spaces.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Goldfarb
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Cloakpin is one of the special gray items, and if someone has already forged or plundered it then it's not available.

I'm puzzled by the statement that the stone house is available up to three times. If Newfoundland can only be explored in the penultimate round, and there's no bonus phase in the last round, how can you get three stone houses? Seems like the limit would be one there also.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Lieffring
United States
Athens
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
David Goldfarb wrote:
The Cloakpin is one of the special gray items, and if someone has already forged or plundered it then it's not available.

I'm puzzled by the statement that the stone house is available up to three times. If Newfoundland can only be explored in the penultimate round, and there's no bonus phase in the last round, how can you get three stone houses? Seems like the limit would be one there also.


It's just saying stone houses are counter-limited at 3, like the cloakpin is counter-limited at one.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Moser
United States
Escondido
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
IncompleteUserNa wrote:
David Goldfarb wrote:
The Cloakpin is one of the special gray items, and if someone has already forged or plundered it then it's not available.

I'm puzzled by the statement that the stone house is available up to three times. If Newfoundland can only be explored in the penultimate round, and there's no bonus phase in the last round, how can you get three stone houses? Seems like the limit would be one there also.


It's just saying stone houses are counter-limited at 3, like the cloakpin is counter-limited at one.


That's very strangely worded. I was confused too, but your reply makes sense.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donald M.
United States
Sweet Grass
Montana
flag msg tools
Cue the Newfie jokes lol
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
SwatSh
Belgium
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello,

One more question about the cloakpin. I've searched in all my grey tiles and I didn't find the cloackpin. There is no description of the cloakpin in the rules.
Can somebody tell me how it looks like or show a photo of it?

Thanks a lot for your help
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich P
United Kingdom
Sheffield
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
I didn't know what to do with my UberBadge, so I left it as a GeekBadge.
badge
Planning...
mbmbmbmbmb
SwatSh wrote:
Hello,

One more question about the cloakpin. I've searched in all my grey tiles and I didn't find the cloackpin. There is no description of the cloakpin in the rules.
Can somebody tell me how it looks like or show a photo of it?

Thanks a lot for your help


It's the L-shaped piece:

X
XXXX
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
SwatSh
Belgium
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
OK. Thank you very much Rich.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.