United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
First off, I've read Craig clarify that that movement through straits counts as Land Movement. Also, straits count as coastal land areas that also allow naval movement to pass through them.

1) When moving naval units (fleets, carriers, subs) through a strait, if the unit starts adjacent to the strait in a coastal territory, does moving into the straight from that territory count as a naval movement or a land movement? If it is a naval movement, can those naval units then enter another coastal territory or sea zone adjacent to the strait, or does movement stop in the strait?

2) Let's say a land unit is in the adjacent coastal territory. Can that land unit choose to use sea movement in the strait, turning into a convoy? If so, can that convoy then move to an adjacent sea zone? Can it make an invasion into an adjacent coastal territory (I assume not since it has to invade from an adjacent sea zone)? For that matter, is it correct that a convoy cannot sea invade any adjacent coastal territories from a strait space?

3) Does moving from one contiguous coast territory to another count as the single point of land movement available to naval units? I assume this move is not available to convoys due to them instead being able to use land movement and invasion requiring entering from a sea zone rather than a contiguous coastline?

4) When attacking an adjacent coastal territory from another adjacent coastal territory, can a convoy be sent into a mutually adjacent sea zone and then land for an invasion in order to get an extra unit past border limits (knowing it would suffer other invasion restrictions)?

5) Craig has stated that he is going to make the contiguous coastal border of Norway and Sweden that is adjacent to Sweden more prominent on the map. As far as I can tell, the only mechanical effect of this border would be to allow naval units to move between the territories due to this border. Is this correct, or does the presence of this border affect other things, such as creating a sea space between Denmark and those territories or allowing a convoy moving from Denmark to sea invade an Sweden or norway?

Thanks for the help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Besinque
Canada
New Denver
BC
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Nick,

1) Movement through a Straits can be either Land or Sea Movement. A Naval unit using Land Movement would have to stop in the Straits. If using Sea Movement it could continue Sea Movement. Isn't this clear in the rules?

2) Yes, a Ground unit adjacent to a Straits could use Sea Movement to pass through the Straits and continue Sea Movement from there.

2a) Regarding a Sea Invasion from a Straits: the short answer is no. Sea Invasions are defined as entering Enemy Territory from a Sea area. In the case of a Sea Move from a Straits to an adjacent Enemy area, in any case the Straits border limit would be taken up by that move so it would be more logical to use straight Land Movement because then the Invading unit could fire.

3) Yes and yes.

4) Yes, for sure.

5) No, there is no sea space created there (this should have been done better). Denmark (Straits) connects to Norway and Sweden by Land (Sea Movement also possible). Norway and Sweden are adjacent Coastal Land areas (without passing through Denmark).

Craig
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.