In the rules (https://www.dropbox.com/s/4ffcja87qlscusc/UniversalRule-Rule..., it states that ...
Add Secret Fleet: In turn order, starting with the attacker, each player can call in their fleet and as many cards as they would like to the battle. The fleet value will be added to the attack or defense depending who the player is aligned with. Cards are played face down.
Add Funds To Battle: Then simultaneously, each player will select the amount of funds to send to the battle. Based on the number of fleet they have on active non-engaged planets,they will take that number of credits into their hands and separate them based how much they want to support with. They can support with as few as zero credits,but must participate. The credit value will be added to the attack or defense depending who the player is aligned with.
Does this mean that non-engaged players will send in their fleet and add funds without declaring who they will support (yet)?