Popular Tags: [View All]
Anton Markus Giger
Austria
Linz
Oberösterreich
flag msg tools
mb
The Plan

I decided to paint my set of Conan minis. Due to lack of talent, time and resources I wanted to just use a wash to get a simplistic highlighting effect and maybe distinguish different batches of minis through use of different colours. After a bit of research I found out that this is not an uncommon practice and brings just about the result I had envisioned. I should add that I'm a total newbie to painting minis. (Apparently primer is a must have to make the paint stick to the model, just in case you were thinking about leaving it out, as I was.) I'm almost finished with the good guys so I wanted to share the result for anybody thinking about going down the same route.

Progress

Here are some black dragons - 1 straight out of the box, 1 primed with Citadel Corax White Spray on Primer, 1 primed and washed with Citadel Seraphim Sepia Shade:

I'm really content with the results, it makes highlights pop and adds a lot to the models, especially the light grey plastic ones, which look a bit dull out of the box. I think I'll even get around to drybrush them, probably with an off white bone color. If anybody's interested I can upload more pictures of different models

What now?

I'm currently considering what to do with the OL minis. I originally planned to use white primer + black wash for them but the guy at my local Games Workshop store didn't like that idea and said they'd probably just look dirty. So now I'm thinking about using different colours for the baddies. Maybe red for leaders, green for monsters, blue for minions. Or maybe even stick to the most common activation group color schemes - but then I'd sometimes end up with "wrongly" colored minis in some scenarios. On the other hand I'd rather have the heroes be the ones sticking out on the board, so maybe I don't want the OL models to be colored. Is there an easy way to give them just a hint of color?