Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

The Oracle of Delphi» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ship Tile - Advance all Gods rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ernesto Carmelino
msg tools
mbmbmb
On the ship tile that lets you "Advance all your Gods on the God Track in the row showinng the number of players participating in the game. After using a special action of a god, return it to that row instead of the lowest row." Does it let you benefit from other player rolls every turn? Since you are actually never on the lowest row on any of the God Tracks you should be able to get up one step every other players turn.

We had issues with this tile since it seemed really unbalanced.



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad103
United States
Skaneateles
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In short, yes (unless other players roll a die matching only gods you have on the top row ie. ready to use).

In long, read this long post about this very question here:
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1662821/ship-tile
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ode.
Germany
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Ernesto,

what makes you think this ship tile is out of balance?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ernesto Carmelino
msg tools
mbmbmb
I feel this tile is not balanced for the different player count. While in 2 player games seems to be ok. In 4 player games where you benefit from 3 player rolls every round instead of an average of 0-1 on the early turns seems way too much. In my opiniom thos tile should work different for the different count of players maybe like the Mercator ex Tabriz in Marco Polo.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Blum
United States
Wilmington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Ovrlol wrote:
I feel this tile is not balanced for the different player count. While in 2 player games seems to be ok. In 4 player games where you benefit from 3 player rolls every round instead of an average of 0-1 on the early turns seems way too much. In my opiniom thos tile should work different for the different count of players maybe like the Mercator ex Tabriz in Marco Polo.


It does, since the starting row for the gods is determined by the number of players.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vahe K
Canada
Laval
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not only will you benefit from raising your gods during the other 3 players turns, the other strong effect of this ship ability is that when you use the god power you set the god token back to the row of the 4 player game showing, that's extremely powerful.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Zeeb
Germany
flag msg tools
Actually, you set it back to the row where it started. Meaning, in a two-player game, it returns to the "cloud" showing the symbol for 2 players.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kris Ardianto
Indonesia
DKI Jakarta - Jakarta Utara
flag msg tools
badge
https://www.facebook.com/gopopnow
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Baldur12c wrote:
Actually, you set it back to the row where it started. Meaning, in a two-player game, it returns to the "cloud" showing the symbol for 2 players.


I do think this ship tile is powerful.
The reason is because that with this ability, the player does not need to advance the god from the lowest track to get the benefit of other players consulting phase. While other players who have gods in the lowest track need to spend an oracle die / card action just to advance their god in the first row so they'll be able to get the benefit from other players.

In short, this tile give you 2 benefit relating the god track:
1. The player have a step shorter than other players to raise the gods.
2. The player doesn't have to do anything (raising from lowest row to the first row) in order to get the benefit from other players. And they have 6 gods while others have to spend basically 6 actions to raise all (ignoring the first god advancement during setup).

But then again, one play only.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Crawford
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This tile sounded way overpowered to use as well... and we didn't even know about the part where it also returns to the clouds instead of to the bottom; we wrongly thought it was a setup power only!

But that was based on opinion / gut feel. I've played this 3 times, that tile was only in the game in one of them. I had it, and I lost (playing it as being a setup-only advantage).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.