$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Conan» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do Heros or Overlord go first? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim OConnor
United States
cedar rapids
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Tried finding it in either rulebook. Neither specifically state who goes first.

You would assume the Heroes (like most of the other games of similar type). But, the first thing the overlord does is advance the turn marker.

Thus, heroes do a turn 0, then the overlord starts turn 1? Bascially, the heroes get 1 extra turn?

Did I just overlook this in the rules?

We played as Heroes go first...but just checking if we were right.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
anthony dybacz
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Scenario tells you; its different in different scenarios.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank BLACKFIRE
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
KingofTown wrote:
But, the first thing the overlord does is advance the turn marker.

Thus, heroes do a turn 0, then the overlord starts turn 1? Bascially, the heroes get 1 extra turn?

Yes, 1 turn is OL then Heroes, so with a 0 turn, the heroes play once more.
(Example in a 8 turns scenario, the heroes play 9 times and the OL 8 times).
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim OConnor
United States
cedar rapids
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I thought so! We played the beginner 4-5 player scenario in the village rescuing the princess. It certainly didn't pop out in that book
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Claus Appel
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
KingofTown wrote:
I thought so! We played the beginner 4-5 player scenario in the village rescuing the princess. It certainly didn't pop out in that book

The first line on page 11 of the Overlord's Book says:
Quote:
The game starts with the heroes' turn.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lone Pathfinder
Australia
flag msg tools
I saw this somewhere else, if the heroes start they get the extra turn for round 0, and the overlord then starts turn 1. Each turn is completed by the heroes and the overlord starts the next turn. Only if the overlord starts the game do all players play the same number of turns.

Has this been officially verified?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Beal
Germany
Geltendorf
Bayern
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Lone_Pathfinder wrote:
Has this been officially verified?


See the response above from Pallantides - he was a Conan playtester, so you can safely assume that his answers are as official as it gets (unless a post from user BadKam (from Monolith) contradicts him, but i don't remember that ever happening).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donato
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The setup in turn 0 of a scenario is basically the Overlord's first turn. That's why Heroes and Overlord have spend gems.

So, after the Overlord's first turn (the setup in turn 0) the Heroes go.

They both get the same amount of turns only the Overlord's start is fixed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.