Is it correct/legal that by taking a card you are not allowed to take, you can get rid of your identity and avoid this way that someone else wins as he is about to identify you in his next turn? Certainly if you have no bottles yet, this could be a good strategy?
You aren't allowed to take the card that shows the item depicted on your secret identity card. This is a basic rule in the game.
Off course it is possible somebody takes this card by mistake. Should this be the case you will indeed loose bottles as a penalty. This rule was added so you have a possibility to continue the game if somebody makes a mistake with a penalty for the person who made the mistake. This will mainly happen if you play with young children or distracted people
Taking a card you aren't allowed to take on purpuse is considered cheating. If you do this you deliberately break the rules to manipulate the game.
So in general you will never loose bottles in the game.