$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Fury of Dracula (third edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Renewed Vigor rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lior Kiperman
Israel
Ramat Gan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a question about the event card Renewed Vigor:

Play at dawn
During day of this hunter phase, each hunter may perform 1 additional action. He cannot perform the same action twice.

Does move by road, move by rail, and move by sea count as the same action?
Does using the fast horses count as the same action as moving?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Merritt
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
HealingAura wrote:
I have a question about the event card Renewed Vigor:

Play at dawn
During day of this hunter phase, each hunter may perform 1 additional action. He cannot perform the same action twice.

Does move by road, move by rail, and move by sea count as the same action?
Does using the fast horses count as the same action as moving?


Road, rail, and sea all fall under Movement, so they are the same action.

I think for Fast Horses, playing the card is the action, which just happens to involve movement. In that case, you may be able to move again with your second action. I would need to see the card text.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randal Divinski
United States
Natick
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
COMaestro wrote:
HealingAura wrote:
I have a question about the event card Renewed Vigor:

Play at dawn
During day of this hunter phase, each hunter may perform 1 additional action. He cannot perform the same action twice.

Does move by road, move by rail, and move by sea count as the same action?
Does using the fast horses count as the same action as moving?


Road, rail, and sea all fall under Movement, so they are the same action.

I think for Fast Horses, playing the card is the action, which just happens to involve movement. In that case, you may be able to move again with your second action. I would need to see the card text.

Below is the text for Fast Horse. I agree with Chris that playing it is a "reveal event card" action, not a "movement" action, based on the wording.

FAST HORSES
Reveal this card as an action during the day.
Reveal 1 ticket token from the token pool to move a number of roads up to the yellow number on that token.
If there is no yellow number on that token, move 1 road and discard this card instead of returning it to your hand.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Michaels
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Do we have an official word on this?

Came up in my game last night TWICE. Renewed Vigor got played, and hunters had Fast Horses, Chartered Carriage...and possible some other event card that caused movement.

I'm guessing you couldn't play two event cards as actions (even though they wouldn't be the same)...so why couldn't you use Fast Horses then move as normal?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randal Divinski
United States
Natick
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
al_fredo wrote:
Do we have an official word on this?

Came up in my game last night TWICE. Renewed Vigor got played, and hunters had Fast Horses, Chartered Carriage...and possible some other event card that caused movement.

I'm guessing you couldn't play two event cards as actions (even though they wouldn't be the same)...so why couldn't you use Fast Horses then move as normal?


There is no longer the possibility of an "official word". FFG has lost the license to Fury of Dracula, so the game is in limbo. There is only the wisdom of the BBG illuminati to guide you.

These are the types of Hunter actions (RR-16): Move, Reserve a Ticket, Rest, Search, Supply, Trade, and Special ("Resolve an effect on an event card or an ability on a character sheet [or item] that needs to be played as an action.")

I believe that Fast Horses belongs as a SPECIAL action, which is why I inserted "[or item]" above.

P.S. If your play group could not agree, then at minimum I would insist that Fast Horses be DECLARED as either a MOVE action or a SPECIAL action, using up that slot, and move on.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randal Divinski
United States
Natick
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
al_fredo wrote:
Came up in my game last night TWICE. Renewed Vigor got played, and hunters had Fast Horses, Chartered Carriage...and possible some other event card that caused movement.

There is NO question on Chartered Carriage. It is played at the start of a (rail) MOVE action: "Play before you move by railway." It modifies that action, and is not itself an action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.