$5.00
$20.00
$15.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Terraforming Mars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can special tiles be placed on ocean spaces? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Monika Żabicka
Poland
Wodzisław Śl.
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can special tiles be placed on ocean spaces?
First, we thought intuitively "No", but then a friend stated that the rules say they must be placed according to the text on a card and these don't include any restrictions concerning ocean spaces :what:
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benjamin Kriechel
msg tools
If a tile says you have to place it on an tile reserved for ocean, you have to place it on an ocean.

Greetings Benjamin
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chaddyboy
United States
Olathe
Kansas
flag msg tools
admin
designer
Bloooooop.
badge
Bluuuuuurp.
mbmbmbmbmb
The answer is no, unless it specifically says to place it on an ocean space (like the Mangrove card).
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Goulding
United Kingdom
Nottingham
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule book clearly states that ONLY ocean tiles may be placed on Ocean spaces. That rule always applies unless specified otherwise.

Foe example, the Mohole card states "Place this tile on an area normally reserved for ocean." Now you have specific instructions to place it in a certain place.

Your friend used the terrible "But it doesn't say I can't do it!" argument. Your instinct was right.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Maarten Alders
Netherlands
Nijmegen
Unspecified
flag msg tools
No, rules state that the blue spaces are reserved for ocean tiles and very specific city tiles.

If you would start placing too many of the special tiles on ocean spots, you will not be able to finish the game because you need to place 9 ocean tiles.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Monika Żabicka
Poland
Wodzisław Śl.
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you all :)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.