Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

The Oracle of Delphi» Forums » Rules

Subject: Heroes and discarding injury cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Monika Żabicka
Poland
Wodzisław Śl.
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
When I get a hero, do I discard the injury cards in his colour that I have gathered so far?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Mathias
United States
Hendersonville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Veridiana wrote:
When I get a hero, do I discard the injury cards in his colour that I have gathered so far?


No, only injury cards of the matching color you receive in the future.

I was wrong, please see Ralph's clarification below.

Quote:
From now on, you may discard any Injury Cards of the Hero’s color.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Monika Żabicka
Poland
Wodzisław Śl.
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph Bruhn
Germany
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
jmathias wrote:
Veridiana wrote:
When I get a hero, do I discard the injury cards in his colour that I have gathered so far?


No, only injury cards of the matching color you receive in the future.

Quote:
From now on, you may discard any Injury Cards of the Hero’s color.
Sorry, but this answer is wrong: You can also discard the Cards you get before!
The "From now on" describes the ability to discard the cards, and as you have this ability "from now on" you of course can discard the cards you already have.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Mathias
United States
Hendersonville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
barandur wrote:
jmathias wrote:
Veridiana wrote:
When I get a hero, do I discard the injury cards in his colour that I have gathered so far?


No, only injury cards of the matching color you receive in the future.

Quote:
From now on, you may discard any Injury Cards of the Hero’s color.
Sorry, but this answer is wrong: You can also discard the Cards you get before!
The "From now on" describes the ability to discard the cards, and as you have this ability "from now on" you of course can discard the cards you already have.


Well that makes it even better! Thanks for the clarification Ralph!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vitaliy Voloshchuk
Ukraine
Kiev
flag msg tools
mb
Still not clear when I can discard those injury cards... Immediately once I receive them or during 1st phase, when I usually discard cards?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Monika Żabicka
Poland
Wodzisław Śl.
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thank you, Ralph! :)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Jaffee
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
randomice wrote:
Still not clear when I can discard those injury cards... Immediately once I receive them or during 1st phase, when I usually discard cards?

Whenever you receive them.

You don't "usually discard injury cards in the first phase" - you can also discard them via die actions, Aphrodite's ability, and one or two other effects. I'd say you SELDOM discard injury cards in the first phase (or you should strive to do that as seldom as possible)!

Hope that helps!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kikathumper
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The "of course" doesn't make sense for me. To me "fom now on" means I have to keep the ones I have already.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Crawford
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
barandur wrote:
jmathias wrote:
Veridiana wrote:
When I get a hero, do I discard the injury cards in his colour that I have gathered so far?


No, only injury cards of the matching color you receive in the future.

Quote:
From now on, you may discard any Injury Cards of the Hero’s color.
Sorry, but this answer is wrong: You can also discard the Cards you get before!
The "From now on" describes the ability to discard the cards, and as you have this ability "from now on" you of course can discard the cards you already have.


So while this makes sense, worth noting that myself and a few other people all thought that the rulebook was saying that it only applied to injuries you get in the future. The "from now on" made it sound that way. Something to keep in mind for later printings.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.